Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theology & Religion

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources in Theology

Reference Works & Recent Titles in Print

Find these books and many others in the Reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library: 

REFERENCE    
REF BL 31 .E46 1995                        The Encyclopedia of Religion
REF BL 2525 .C354 2012   The Cambridge History of Religions in America
REF BL 2525 .M449 2017 Vol. 1-2   Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions. Vol. 1: United States, Vol. 2: Canada
REF BM 50 .O94 2011   The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
REF BM 176 .E34 2010   The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism
REF BM 487 .E53 2000   Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
REF BM 520.52 .O94 2015 Vol. 1-2      The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Law
REF BR 60 .A52 1994   Ante-Nicene Fathers
REF BR 60 .A52 1994   Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers
REF BR 95 .E47 2005   Encyclopedia of Christianity
REF BR 162.2 .E53 1997   Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
REF BR 302.8 .O93 1996   The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
REF BR 331 .E5 2015 Vol. 1-2   The Annotated Luther: The Roots of Reform, Vol. 1; Word and Faith, Vol. 2
REF BS 440 .A54   Anchor Bible Dictionary
REF BS 440 .B5713   Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
REF BS 440 .D53 2008   Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings
REF BS 440 .I63   The Interpreter's Bible
REF BS 440 .H65 2015   Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary
REF BS 440 .N438 1997 Vol. 1-5   New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis
REF BS 440 .N445 2006   The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440 .O93 2011   The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
REF BS 440 .Z66 2011      Zondervan illustrated Bible Dictionary
REF BS 447 .U6 O94 2017   The Oxford Handbook of the Bible in America
REF BS 491.2 .B67   The Broadman Bible Commentary
REF BS 501 .A1 H57 2007   Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters
REF BS 680 .E84 O94 2014   The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics
REF BS 895 .A48 2019 Vol 1-3   The Hebrew Bible: A Translation with Commentary
REF BS 1505.52 .O93 2016   The Oxford Handbook of the Prophets
REF BS 1505.55 .D53 2012       Dictionary of the Old Testament Prophets
REF BS 2312 .K5813   Theological Dictionary of the New Testament
REF BS 2312 .N48 2014   New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis
REF BS 2341.2 .H65 1998   Holman New Testament Commentary
REF BT 28 .O94 2017   The Oxford Handbook of Nineteenth-Century Christian Thought
REF BV 15 .O95 2006   The Oxford History of Christian Worship
REF BV 3773 .E53 2007   Encyclopedia of Religious Revivals in America
REF DS 102.8 E496 2007   Encyclopedia Judaica
     
PHILOSOPHY    
B 105 .W6 W625 2017   Women and Liberty, 1600-1800: Philosophical Essays
B 765 .T54 A98 2017   Aquinas on Virtue: A Casual Reading
B 765 .T54 J474 2018   Sin: a Thomistic  Psychology
B 791 .G68 2016   The Dream of Enlightenment: : The Rise of Modern Philosophy
B 802 .J33 2019   The Secular Enlightenment
     
ETHICS    
BJ 1251 .S8132 2016   Kingdom Ethics: Following Jesus in Contemporary Context
BJ 1280 .S23 2016   Essays on Ethics: A Weekly Reading of the Jewish Bible
BJ 1401 .E974 2019   Explaining Evil
     
RELIGION    
BL 42.5 .U5 S36 2018   The Resilience of Religion in American Higher Education
BL 60 .M276 2017   The Rise and Fall of the Christian Myth: Restoring Our Democratic Ideals
BL 65 .S8 W75 2016   Storming Zion: Government Raids on Religious Communities
BL 783 .J64 2018   The Story of Myth
BL 803 .R84513 2018   Pantheon: A New History of Roman Religion
BL 860 .G35 2017   Norse Mythology
BL 1060 .S53 2017   A History of Muslims, Christians and Jews in the Middle East
BL 1803 .J645 2017   The Souls of China: The Return of Religion After Mao
BL 2525 .D63 2018     A Documentary History of Religion in America
BL 2525 .M36 2018   Religion & American Culture: A Brief History
     
JUDAISM    
BM 562 .S54 2009   Faith Finding Meaning: A Theology of Judaism
BM 723 .S93 2020   Jewish Mysticism: From Ancient Times through Today
KBM 524 .L5313 2019   An Introduction to Jewish Law
     
ISLAM    
BP 10 .J383 A635 2016   Inside the Muslim Brotherhood: Religion, Identity, and Politics
BP 50 .A33 2017   Historical Dictionary of Islam
BP 52 .A94 2017   The Idea of the Muslim World: A Global Intellectual History
BP 166.14 .M63 D4 2017   The Islamic Enlightenment: The Struggle Between Faith and Reason, 1798 to Modern Times
BP 172 .A273 2019   Sacred Misinterpretation: Reaching across the Christian-Muslim Divide
BP 172 .A436 2017   The Islamic Jesus: How the King of the Jews Became a Prophet of the Muslims
BP 188.5 .G74 2012   Sufism: A Global Islam
BP 189 .K695 2017   Sufism: A New History of Islamic Mysticism
BP 194.16 .I86 2016   Saudi Clerics and Shia Islam 
BP 194.16 .L6813 2020   Sunnis and Shi'a: A Political History of Discord
     
BUDDHISM    
BQ 9265.4 .V36 2018   The Spirit of Zen
     
CHRISTIANITY    
BR 115 .A8 A7755 2019   The Arts as Witness in Multifaith Contexts
BR 115 .A8 T395 2019   Glimpses of the New Creation: Worship and the Formative Power of the Arts
BR 115 .P7 A94 2019   The Spirit and the Common Good: Shared Flourishing in the Image of God
BR 127 .B534 2018   When One Religion Isn't Enough: The Lives of Spiritually Fluid People
BR 160 .E5 E5 2019   The History of the Church: Eusebius of Caesarea
BR 305.3 .E37 2016   Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650
BR 309 .P95 2016   Protestantism after 500 Years
BR 325 .H28 2017   A World Ablaze: The Rise of Martin Luther and the Birth of the Reformation
BR 325 .R76 2017   Martin Luther: Renegade and Prophet
BR 326.5 .M36 2017   1517: Martin Luther and the Invention of the Reformation
BR 377 .M34 2017   Heretics and Believers: A History of the English Reformation
BR 515 .H57 2019   A History of Christianity in the United States and Canada
BR 516 .G75 2017   Moral Combat: How Sex Divided American Christians and Fractured American Politics
BR 516 .P7 2020   Preaching in /and the Borderlands
BR 517 .J67 2017   Set in Stone: America's Embrace of the Ten Commandments
BR 517 .W58 2019   Religion and Resistance in Appalachia: Faith and the Fight Against Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining
BR 520 .W56 2017   Darkness Falls on the Land of Light: Experiencing Religious Awakenings in Eighteenth-Century New England
BR 563 .N4 G295 2021   The Black Church: This is Our Story, This is Our Song
BR 1640 .N645 2019   Evangelicals: Who They Have Been, Are Now, and Could Be
BR 1642 .U5 F565 2017  
The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America
BS 2545 .T45 R44 2019   The Temple in Early Christianity
BV 2070 .P46 2009   Perspectives on the World Christian Movement
     
THE BIBLE    
BS 447.5 .E85 W49 2016   The People's Book: The Reformation and the Bible
BS 511.3 .B93 2019   Surprised by Jesus Again: Reading the Bible in Communion with the Saints
BS 540 .B44533 2016   The Bible in American Life
BS 680 .P45 L668 2020   The Bible and the Ballot: Using Scripture in Political Decisions
BS 1130 .S74 2017   The Jewish Bible: A Material History
BS 1225.53 .S3414 2016   JPS B'Nai Mitzvah Torah Commentary
BS 1225.6 .M44 C44 2019   The Messianic Vision of the Pentateuch 
BS 1235.54 .S33 2010   Covenant and Conversation: Exodus: The Book of Redemption
BS 2331 .M28 2017   Biblical Truths: The Meaning of Scripture in the Twenty-First Century
BS 2545 .I33 T7 2020   T&T Clark Social Identity Commentary on the New Testament 
BS 2575.52 .K367 2019   Matthew within Sectarian Judaism
BS 2651 .C284 2020   Pauline Dogmatics: The Triumph of God's Love
BS 2655 .J4 P58 2019   Paul A New Covenant Jew: Rethinking Pauline Theology 
     
DOCTRINAL THEOLOGY    
BT 103 .D79 2019   God in Himself: Scripture, Metaphysics, and the Task of Christian Theology
BT 103 .G6195 2016   God in the Enlightenment
BT 135 .B373 G63 2020   The God Who Acts in History: The Significance of Sinai
BT 303.2 .E465 2020   Can We Trust the Bible on the Historical Jesus?
BT 303.2 .M45 2016   A Marginal Jew: Rethinking the Historical Jesus
BT 453 .W754 2016   The Day the Revolution Began: Reconsidering the Meaning of Jesus's Crucifixion
BT 695.5 .T474 2015   Sacred Mountains: A Christian Ethical Approach to Mountaintop Removal
BT 712 .B75 2020   Reformed Theology & Evolutionary Theory
BT 848 .B64 2018   Seeing God: The Beatific Vision in Christian Tradition
BT 972 .D45 2017   Work of Love: A Theological Reconstruction of the Communion of Saints
     
PRACTICAL THEOLOGY    
BV 10.3 .S4 2006   Christian Worship: Its Theology and Practice
BV 15 .D69 2013   Doxology & Theology: how the gospel forms the worship leader
BV 15 .V353 2016   The Next Worship: Glorifying God in a Diverse World
BV 15 .W385 1998   Planning Blended Worship
BV 652.1 .E385 2017   The Mythical Leader
BV 652.25 .D49 2017   Disruption: Repurposing the Church to Redeem Community
BV 873 .L6 V36 2019   We Will Feast: Rethinking Dinner, Worship, and the Community of God
BV 4211.3 .H665 2019   Sunday Comes Every Week: Daily Habits for the Busy Preacher
BV 4501.3 .W42294 2019   Walk Humbly
BV 4639 .L663 2016   Love and Christian Ethics: Tradition, Theory, and Society
BV 4647 .K5 C67 2016   Love Kindness
BV 4832 .D83 2019   Spiritual Meditations for People Who Help Other People
     
CHRISTIAN DENOMINATIONS    
BX 1752 .S76 2016   Bearing False Witness: Debunking Centuries of Anti-Catholic History
BX 4817 .R46 2020   Recapturing an Enchanted World: Ritual and Sacrament in the Free Church Tradition
BX 5145 .C86 2018   The Book of Common Prayer: A Very Short Introduction
BX 6207 .S7 A5 2017   Annual of the Southern Baptist Convention
BX 6462.3 .C35 2016   Anatomy of a Schism: How Clergywomen's Narratives Reinterpret the Fracturing of the Southern Baptist Convention
BX 7260 .E3 M415 2008   A Short Life of Jonathan Edwards
BX 7733 .M68 L83 2017   Lucretia Mott Speaks: The Essential Speeches and Sermons
     
ISRAEL (PALESTINE)    
DS 150.5 .M33 2017   Israel Matters: Why Christians Must Think Differently about the People and the Land
     
HISTORY: AMERICA    
E 185.615 .T595 2019   The Color Compromise: the Truth About the American Church's Complicity in Racism
     
LIBRARY SCIENCE    
Z 241 .B58 W45 2017   Edito princeps: A History of the Gutenberg Bible