Skip to Main Content

Mathematics

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources in Mathematics

Welcome!

Library Guide to Mathematics Resources

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf! (Print Books)

Students and faculty online and at regional centers may request books by mail through CU Library Exchange.

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Recent Titles in Print

Locate these books in the circulating collection of Montgomery Library:

STATISTICS      
HA 29 .M135 2018     Thinking Through Statistics
HA 37 .U55 L34 2020     Democratizing Our Data: A Manifesto
       
MATHEMATICS      
QA 8.4 .O73 2019     99 Variations on a Proof
QA 9 .C486175 2018     The Art of Logic in an Illogical World
QA 9 .H52445 2019     A First Journey Through Logic
QA 9.25 .F66 2019     An Invitation to Applied Category Theory: Seven Sketches in Compositionality
QA 10.5 .K37 2020      Open Middle Math: Problems that Unlock Student Thinking, Grades 6-12
QA 11.2 .B26525 2021     Figuring out Fluency in Mathematics: Teaching and Learning (Grades K-8)
QA 11.2 .B63 2024     Math-Ish: Finding Creativity, Diversity, and Meaning in Mathematics
QA 12 .C665 2021     A Conversation on Professional Norms in Mathematics
QA 27 .U5 G37 2019     100 Years of Math Milestones: The Pi Mu Epsilon Centennial Collection
QA 63 .S73 2020     Conversational Problem Solving
QA 93 .D285 2018     Weird Math
QA 93 .I425 2020     Illustrating Mathematics
QA 93 .P654 2021     Putting Two and Two Together: Selections from the Mathologer Files
QA 93 .P6725 2018     The Mathematics of Everyday Life
QA 93 .P75 2018     The Prime Number Conspiracy
QA 95 .D48 2020     Mage Merlin's Unsolved Mathematical Mysteries
QA 95 .P4335 2021     The Raven's Hat: Fall Pictures, Rising Sequences, and Other Mathematical Games
       
ARITHMETIC/EDUCATION      
QA .S65 2023     11 Effective Strategies for Teaching Math to Students Who Have Given Up on Learning
QA135.6 .B384 2022     Figuring out Fluency - Addition & Subtraction with Fractions and Decimals: A Classroom Companion (Grades 4-8)
QA135.6 .B385 2022     Figuring out Fluency - Multiplication & Division with Fractions and Decimals: A Classroom Companion (Grades 4-8)
QA135.6 .B386 2023     Figuring out Fluency - Operations with Rational Numbers and Algebraic Equations: A Classroom Companion (Grades 5-9)
QA 135.6 .B39425 2019     Math Fact Fluency: 60+ Games and Assessment Tools to Support Learning and Retention
QA 135.6 .L55 2021     Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics: 14 Teaching Practices for Enhancing Learning (Grades K-12)
QA135.6 .S2577 2022     Figuring out Fluency - Addition & Subtraction with Whole Numbers: A Classroom Companion
QA 135.6 .S2578 2022     Figuring out Fluency - Multiplication and Division with Whole Numbers: A Classroom Companion (Grades K-8)
       
ALGEBRA, GEOMETRY, STATISTICS, AND ADVANCED MATHEMATICS      
QA 184.2 .L36 2018     Linear Algebra and Analytic Geometry for Physical Sciences
QA 247 .G47 2006       Non-Unique Factorizations: Algebraic, Combinatorial and Analytic Theory
QA 247 .S77 2022     Algebraic Number Theory for Beginners: Following a Path from Euclid to Noether
QA 269 .B65 2018     Graph Searching Games and Probabilistic Methods
QA 273 .A4 D53 2018     Ten Great Ideas about Chance
QA 276.12 .S665 2019     The Art of Statistics: How to Learn From Data
QA 443.5 .D55 2018     Geometry Through History
QA 445 .B35 2018     Introduction to Geometry and Topology
QA 466 .R53 2019     Tales of Impossibility: The 2000-Year Quest to Solve the Mathematical Problems of Antiquity
QA 611 .D476 2022     Computational Topology for Data Analysis 
QA 614.86 .F796 2021     Geometry of Grief: Reflections on Mathematics, Loss, and Life
QA 685 .E33 2019     Eighteen Essay in Non-Euclidean Geometry
       
PHYSICS      
QC 6 .S243 2022     More than the Sum of the Parts: Complexity in Physics and Beyond
QC 20 .S423 2024       A First Guide to Computational Modelling in Physics

 

 

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

Library of Congress Classification Guide for Math & Computer Science Resources:

     QA 1-939              Mathematics
  QA 1-43      General
  QA 47-59      Tables
  QA 71-90      Instruments and machines
  QA 75-76.95         Calculating machines
  QA 75.5-76.95         Electronic computers. Computer Science. Computer Software
  QA 101-141.8   Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic
  QA 150-272.5   Algebra
  QA 273-280   Probabilities. Mathematical statistics
  QA 299.6-433   Analysis
  QA 440-699   Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
  QA 801-939   Analytic mechanics