LibGuides: Tutorials: Tutorials

Tutorials

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CU Search Help

Use this Library Guide to learn how to set up your account, search, request Interlibrary Loan, and more!

CU SEARCH HELP

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Videos:

Note: Under Settings (⚙), set the video quality to 720p or higher and click full screen for a clearer picture.

CU Search Tutorial

Citing and Saving Sources in CU Search

Advanced Search Methods - Part 1: Boolean Operators

Advanced Search - Part 2: Subject Search and Truncated Search Terms

CU Library Exchange

Interlibrary Loan - Items from Other Libraries

Avoiding Plagiarism - 12-minute video

Avoiding Plagiarism - 9-Minute Video Podcast and Downloadable Audio File

7 Types of Plagiarism - Podcast (Downloadable Audio File)
This audio file is licensed under a Creative Commons BY-NC-ND 4.0 license: https://bit.ly/48clW2N

This video and the audio file are licensed under a Creative Commons BY-NC-ND 4.0 license.

APA Guide + Google Scholar Tools (13 minutes)

APA Citation, Google Scholar, and the IEEE and ACM Databases

Tour Montgomery Library

Library Orientation Webinars

Library Orientation Webinar - April 2, 2025

Search tips for using CU Search and the new Academic Search Complete interface.
Searching EBSCO Databases Simultaneously
Finding Statistics, Data, & Analysis: Government & Non-Government Sources
Evaluating Source Credibility
Stop AI Plagiarism

Library Orientation Webinar - January 29, 2025

Resources on Our Homepage
Evaluating Source Credibility + Intro to Boolean & Advanced Searching
How to Use CU Search
How to Use Academic Search Complete (new interface)

Disinformation, Source Evaluation, and Library Databases - October 30, 2024

Tips for evaluating sources, avoiding disinformation, and using database tools and other online services

Tutorials for Individual Databases

Many database providers have online tutorial links on their search pages that you can access by clicking on the HELP tab. Use these tutorials to improve your online database searches. Here are some links to database tutorials:

Advanced Search Tutorial (EBSCOhost Databases)
Learn how to do an Advanced Search on EBSCOhost databases like Academic Search Complete, ATLA, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Sociology Collection.
Alexander Street Press: Create a Custom Playlist
Learn how to create a custom playlist on Alexander Street Press databases.
Alexander Street Press: Using the Audio Player
Learn how to use the audio player on Alexander Street Press music databases.
Alexander Street Press Search Tips
Explore search tips for Alexander Street Press databases.
Business Source Premier Advanced Search
See the advanced searching and browsing functions of the Business Source Premier database.
CINAHL Advanced Search
View a tutorial that demonstrates the advanced searching features of CINAHL with Full Text.
CINAHL and MeSH Headings
This tutorial shows how to create a search using the CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings functionality.
eBook Collection: Downloading eBooks
This tutorial demonstrates the download functionality for EBSCO eBooks.
eBook Collection Search Tips
Watch a tutorial demonstrating the searching functionality for EBSCO eBooks as well as how to read eBooks online.
Films on Demand Advanced Search
See this guide for advanced search tips on Films on Demand.
JSTOR Searching
Watch this video to learn how to search JSTOR.
MEDLINE - 2025 updated interface tutorial video
This video goes through the search functions and options in EBSCO's MEDLINE Ultimate. Please note that CU has access to the regular MEDLINE database, not MEDLINE Ultimate, but the search interface is very similar.
MEDLINE - Using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) - video
This video demonstrates how to use Advanced Search in MEDLINE databases, which use CINAHL/MeSH subject headings.
MEDLINE - Using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) - instructions
Helpful explanation and step-by-step instructions for accessing sources using MeSH subject headings
MLA International Bibliography Tutorials
This video album features tutorials on how to search MLA International Bibliography.
Nexis Uni Advanced Search
View this tutorial to learn how to do an Advanced Search on Nexis Uni.
ProQuest Databases: Advanced Search
Use Advanced Search to create a more structured query, searching across different fields in ProQuest databases including ABI/Inform, Criminal Justice Database, New York Times: Historical Newspapers, and Religion Database.