LibGuides: Early Childhood & Montessori Education: Articles and Databases

Recommended Databases

Here are some recommended databases in the library's collection. CU Search will search these databases, but you may search them individually as well.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides journal and newspaper coverage for most academic areas of study.
Britannica - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, journals, and other academic research tools.
Career and Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides vocational information for teachers and students.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle provides news, information, and job listings for college and university faculty and administrators.
eBooks K-8 Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore this collection of e-books for K-8 students covering all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
The Master Academic Package from Films on Demand contains nearly 40,000 films that will both educate and entertain students and faculty on a wide range of subjects including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
Funk & Wagnells New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Updated annually, this database has full text available for an array of topics.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online resource covering today’s hottest social issues. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of full-text academic journals and e-books in all fields.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library provides resources for achieving educational and career goals.
LISTA This link opens in a new window
LISTA contains abstracts for Library Science, Information Science, and Information Technology.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general interest periodicals.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
MAS Ultra – School Edition is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books and primary sources.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books.
PBS Learning Media This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive web-based multimedia learning service offering standards-based resources.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search furnishes full-text articles from popular children's magazines for elementary school research.

ProQuest Databases: Advanced Search
Use Advanced Search to create a more structured query, searching across different fields in ProQuest databases including ABI/Inform, Criminal Justice Database, New York Times: Historical Newspapers, and Religion Database.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global contains dissertations and theses from around the world, dating from 1743 to the present, offering full text for graduate works added since 1997 along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to hundreds of full-text titles in all areas of the field.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
TopicSearch is a current events database exploring popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

CU Search 2024

CU Search

CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

Interlibrary Loan

CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Interlibrary Loan Information