Personal Research Help
Would you like to sign up for an online or on-campus appointment with Jonathan Lehtonen, the library instructor? Click here to sign up!
Jonathan Lehtonen
Instruction & Reference Specialist
Montgomery Library 103D
270-789-5390
Stay up-to-date with the Montgomery Library on social media!
Library Guide for Criminal Justice Research 
New to the Shelf! (Print Books)
Students and faculty online and at regional centers may request books by mail through CU Library Exchange.
Blood, Powder, and Residue: How Crime Labs Translate Evidence Into Proof by 
Free Speech and Turbulent Freedom: The Dangerous Allure of Censorship in the Digital Era by 
Paramilitarism: Mass Violence in the Shadow of the State by 
Redistributing the Poor: Jails, Hospitals, and the Crisis of Law and Fiscal Austerity by 
Just Health: Treating Structural Racism to Heal America by 
Moral Acrobatics: How We Avoid Ethical Ambiguity by Thinking in Black and White by 
Can Legal Weed Win?: The Blunt Realities of Cannabis Economics by 
A Brief History of Equality by 
Indefinite: Doing Time in Jail by 
When Freedom Speaks: The Boundaries and Boundlessness of our First Amendment Right by 
The Last Witches of England: A Tragedy of Sorcery and Superstition by 
Until Our Lungs Give Out: Conversations on Race, Justice, and the Future by 
A Supreme Court Unlike Any Other: The Deepening Divide Between the Justices and the People by 
Crimes of the Centuries: The Cases that Changed Us by Selected E-Books
Law and Authors: A Legal Handbook for Writers by 
A Real Right to Vote: How a Constitutional Amendment Can Safeguard Democracy by eBook Collection by EBSCOhost
Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.
Recent Titles in Print
Find these books and many others in the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.
| REFERENCE | ||
| REF HV 6787 .A374 2019 | Crime in the United States, 2019 | |
| PSYCHOLOGY & ETHICS | ||
| BJ 1012 .R5525 2021 | Moral Acrobatics: How We Avoid Ethical Ambiguity by Thinking in Black and White | |
| INDUSTRIES / LABOR | ||
| HD 9019 .M382 U625 2022 | Can Legal Weed Win?: The Blunt Realities of Cannabis Economics | |
| SOCIOLOGY, COMMUNITIES, CLASSES, RACES | ||
| E 185.615 .Y35 2023 | Until Our Lungs Give Out: Conversations on Race, Justice, and the Future | |
| HM 821 .P547 2022 | A Brief History of Equality | |
| HN 80 .M6 F67 | A Voice but No Power: Organizing for Social Justice in Minneapolis | |
| HN 90 .V5 V5485 2020 | Violence in American Society: An Encyclopedia of Trends, Problems, and Perspective Volume 1 | |
| HN 90 .V5 V5485 2020 | Violence in American Society: An Encyclopedia of Trends, Problems, and Perspective Volume 2 | |
| HT 1523 .M325 2021 | The Inner Work of Racial Justice: Healing Ourselves and Transforming Our Communities Through Mindfulness | |
| HT 1581 .R56 2020 | Black Lives and Spatial Matters: Policing Blackness and Practicing Freedom in Suburban St. Louis | |
| SOCIAL SERVICE AND PUBLIC WELFARE | ||
| HV 40 .S6135 2022 | Homelessness and Housing Advocacy: The Role of Red-Tape Warriors | |
| HV 6250.4 .W65 B869 2022 | Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy | |
| CRIMINOLOGY | ||
| HQ 799.2 .V56 M397 2021 | Adolescent Exposure to Violence and Adult Outcomes: Results from the National Youth Survey Family Study | |
| HT 1523 .D55 2021 | Antiracist discourse: Theory and history of a macromovement | |
| HV 6025 .C537 2020 | Classic Writings in Anarchist Criminology: A Historical Dismantling of Punishment and Domination | |
| HV 6197 .U6 M85 2019 | The Condemnation of Blackness: Race, Crime and the Making of Modern Urban America | |
| HV 6250.4 .W65 G48 2020 | Gender Violence: Interdisciplinary Perspectives, 3rd Ed. | |
| HV 6251 .B4273 2021 | Command and Persuade: Crime, Law, and the State Across History | |
| HV 6322.7 .A66 2021 | Complying with Genocide: The Wolf You Feed | |
| HV 6431 .L955 2019 | Another Kind of War: The Nature and History of Terrorism | |
| HV 6431 .P679 2021 | Home, Land, Security: Deradicalization and the Journey Back From Extremism | |
| HV 6515 .K57 2020 | The Last Book on the Left: Stories of Murder and Mayhem from History's Most Notorious Serial Killers | |
| HV 6524 .E78 2021 | Covered with Night: A Story of Murder and Indigenous Justice in Early America | |
| HV 6534 .P5 S36 2020 | The Eulogy of Homicide: Race, Place, and Space in Postwar Philadelphia | |
| HV 6250.4 .W65 D475 2022 | Every 90 Seconds: Our Common Cause Ending Violence Against Women | |
| HV 6515 .H868 2023 | Crimes of the Centuries: The Cases that Changed Us | |
| HV 6626.2 .B56 2023 | Violence Never Heals: The Lifelong Effects of Intimate Partner Violence for Immigrant Women | |
| HV 6773.15 .C97 S335 2020 | Myths and Realities of Cyber Warfare: Conflict in the Digital Realm | |
| HV 8073 .B358 2019 | The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book | |
| HV 8073 .B373 2020 | Blood, Powder, and Residue: How Crime Labs Translate Evidence Into Proof | |
| HV 8073 .L29 2021 | Understanding Eyewitness Memory: Theory and Applications | |
| HV 8073 .R4975 2019 | Finding the Truth with Criminal Investigation: Suspect, Subject, Defendant | |
| HV 8746 .U6 W35 2022 | Indefinite: Doing Time in Jail | |
| HV 9469 .L267 2021 | Redistributing the Poor: Jails, Hospitals, and the Crisis of Law and Fiscal Austerity | |
| HV 9471 .D94 2019 | Women Lifers: Lives Before, Behind, and Beyond Bars | |
| HV 9950 .O25 2019 | Shadows of Doubt | |
| POLITICAL SCIENCE | ||
| JC 591 .G54 2024 | Free Speech and Turbulent Freedom: The Dangerous Allure of Censorship in the Digital Era | |
| LAW | ||
| K 3641.L44 2020 | Legalizing Cannabis: Experiences, Lessons, and Scenarios | |
| KD 371 .W56 C35 2022 | The Last Witches of England: A Tragedy of Sorcery and Superstition | |
| KF 4288 .W45 2021 | Creative Expression and the Law | |
| KF 4772 .G77 2022 | When Freedom Speaks: The Boundaries and Boundlessness of our First Amendment Right | |
| KF 8742 .M363 2024 | A Supreme Court Unlike Any Other: The Deepening Divide Between the Justices and the People | |
| KF 9329 .J64 2021 | Wrongful Conviction in Sexual Assault: Strange Rape, Acquaintance Rape, and Intra-Familial Child Sexual Assaults | |
| JOURNALISM | ||
| PN 4784 .O62 H495 2021 | We Are Bellingcat: Global Crime, Online Sleuths, and the Bold Future of News | |
| MEDICINE | ||
| RA 563 .M56 M28 2022 | Just Health: Treating Structural Racism to Heal America | |
| HISTORY--MILITARY | ||
| UA 10 .U54 2022 | Paramilitarism: Mass Violence in the Shadow of the State |
CU Search
Browse the Collection
Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.
Library of Congress Classification Guide for Criminology and Law:
| HV 6001-7220.5 | Criminology |
| HV 6035-6197 | Criminal anthropology, criminal types, prison psychology |
| HV 6250-6250.4 | Victims of crimes. Victimology |
| HV 6251-6773.55 | Crimes and offenses |
| HV 7231-9960 | Criminal justice administration |
| HV 7431 | Prevention of crime |
| HV 7551-8280.7 | Police. Detectives. Constabulary |
| HV 8081-8099 | Private detectives. Detective bureaus |
| HV 8290-8291 | Private security services |
| HV 8301-9920.7 | Penology. Prisons. Corrections |
| K 5000-5582 | Criminal law and procedure |
| KB 3000-3034 | Police and public safety |
| KF | Law of the United States |
Use this link for more detailed information:
