Skip to Main Content

Mass Communication

Montgomery Library's Guide to Mass Communication Resources

Welcome!

Library Guide for Mass Communication

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Recent Titles in Print

Find these books and many others on the shelves in the reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library:

REFERENCE    
REF PN 43 .B65 2018     Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (20th Edition)
     
COMMUNICATION & LANGUAGE    
P 95.8 .N49 2019   Surprising News: How the Media Affect - and Do Not Affect - Politics
P 96 .F46 R486 2022   Re-Understanding Media: Feminist Extensions of Marshall McLuhan
P 301 .N49 2021    A New Handbook of Rhetoric: Inverting the Classical Vocabulary
P 301.5 .C45 B85 2023    Talking in Clichés: The Use of Stock Phrases in Discourse and Communication
P 308 .U53 2022    Using Technologies for Creative-Text Translation
     
TELEVISION    
PN 1992.8 .H54 L38 2022   Latinx TV in the Twenty-First Century
PN 1992.4 .R56 K56 2018   The Good Neighbor: The Life and Work of Fred Rogers
PN 1995.5 .E23 C48 2020   Hollywood Diplomacy: Regulation, Foreign Relations & East Asian Representations
PN 1992.5 .T3653 2021   Television Dramas and the Global Village: Storytelling through Race and Gender
PN 1992.6 .B47 2022   Better Living through TV: Contemporary TV and Moral Identity Formation
PN 1995.9 .A8 C88 2021   Movies On Our Minds: The Evolution of Cinematic Engagement
PN 1995.9 .P7 B38 2023   Creative Producing: A Pitch-to-Picture Guide to Movie Development
     
JOURNALISM    
PN 4784 .C75 E37 2019   The Copyeditor's Handbook: A Guide for Book Publishing and Corporate Communications
PN 4784 .O24 W35 2019   The View from Somewhere: Undoing the Myth of Journalistic Objectivity
PN 4784 .O62 H495 2021   We are Bellingcat: Global Crime, Online Sleuths, and the Bold Future of News
PN 4784 .P26 H47 2022   A History of Television News Parody in America
PN 4784 .P5 F75 2020   Graphic News: How Sensational Images Transformed Nineteenth-Century Journalism
PN 4784 .T34 P38 2019   Journalism in the Age of Virtual Reality
PN 4787 .N48 N45 2021   Imagine Audiences: How Journalists Perceive and Pursue the Public
PN 4882.5 .T47 2019   Looking at the Stars: Black Celebrity Journalism in Jim Crow America
PN 4888 .W65 F766 2020   Front Pages, Front Lines: Media and the Fight for Women's Suffrage
PN 4888.56 W55 2019   The Social Fact
     
COMIC BOOKS    
PN 6727.S3 Z624 2021   Charlie Brown's America: The Popular Politics of Peanuts
     
TECHNOLOGY    
TR 140 .E92 A47 2020   Walker Evans: Starting from Scratch
TR 183 .L47 2018   Visual Ethics: A Guide for Photographers, Journalists, and Filmmakers
TR 820 .S2457 2020   The Ethics of Photojournalism in the Digital Age
     
ETHICS        
BJ 1031 .F88 2021     Future Morality
BJ 1470.5 .B86 2021   Having Their Say: Athletes and Entertainers and the Ethics of Speaking Out
     
SPORTS    
GV 706.5 .N678 2022    Not playing around: Intersectional identities, media representation, and the power of sport
     
HISTORY    
E 744.5 .G55 2022   Global Media Perceptions of the United States: The Trump Effect
     
SOCIAL SCIENCE    
HD 45 .S925 2024     Burn book: A tech love story
HD 49.3 .S629 2022   Social Media and Crisis Communication
HD 53 .L363 2022   Strategic Creativity: A Business Field Guide to Advertising, Branding, and Design
HE 8700.76 .U6 A647     American Television During a Television Presidency
HF 5415 .D385   Advanced Introduction to Marketing Strategy
HM 646.2 .P86 P86 2021    Punk Identities, Punk Utopias: Global Punk and Media
HQ 1236.5 .U6 C63 2021   For the Many: American Feminists and the Global Fight for Democratic Equality
     
POLITICAL SCIENCE    
JC 591 .M33 2022   Free Speech: A History from Socrates to Social Media
JC 591 .S63 2022   Social Media, Freedom of Speech, and the Future of Our Democracy
JF 2112 .A4 2020   Buying Reality: Political Ads, Money, and Local Television News
KF 4288 .W45 2021   Creative Expression and the Law
     
LIBRARY SCIENCE    
Z 278 .O94 2019   The Oxford Handbook of Publishing
Z 466 .E43 W37 2021   Shelf Life: Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

Library of Congress Classification Guide to Mass Communication Resources 

P 87-96  Communication. Mass media 
   
PN 1990-1992.92       Broadcasting
PN 1991-1991.9 Radio broadcasts
PN 1992-1992.92    Television broadcasts
   
PN 4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
PN 4735-4748 Relation to the state. Government and the press. Liberty of the press 
PN 4775-4784 Technique. Practical journalism
PN 4825-4830 Amateur journalism
PN 4832-4836 Magazines and other periodicals
PN 4840-5648 By region or country