Skip to Main Content

Shakespeare

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources on Shakespeare

Welcome!

Library Guide for Shakespeare Research     

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.   
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

Students and faculty online and at regional centers may request books by mail through CU Library Exchange.

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Recent Titles in Print

Most of the library materials by and about Shakespeare are shelved under the Library of Congress Classification numbers PR 2752-PR 3112 in the Reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's main floor.

SHAKESPEARE    
PR 2848 .K54 2021   The Afterlife of Shakespeare's Sonnets
PR 2894 .B38 2019   How the Classics Made Shakespeare
PR 2971 .U6 S55 2020   Shakespeare in a Divided America
PR 2976 .K487 2018   Shakespeare's Originality
PR 2991 .N68 2019   Shakespeare and Feminist Theory
PR 3011 .T39 2022   Shakespeare and the Elizabethan Reformation: Literary Negotiation of Religious Difference
PR 3069 .S45 Q44 2019 Queer Shakespeare: Desire and Sexuality
PR 3071 .Y37 2022     Shakespeare's 'Lady Editors': A New History of the Shakespearean Text
PR 3081 .M37 2020   Shakespeare's Accents: Voicing Identity in Performance
PR 3091 .S397 2019   Shakespeare: Actors and Audiences
     
HISTORY / SOCIAL SCIENCE    
DA 358 .R87 L36 2015   Shakespeare and the Countess: The Battle that Gave Birth to the Globe
DG 445 .C378 2021   The Italian Renaissance and the Origins of the Modern Humanities: An Intellectual History, 1400-1800
GT 2341 .E85 B87 2024   How to Be a Renaissance Woman: The Untold History of Beauty & Female Creativity
HV 6516 .G47 2022   Holding a Mirror up to Nature: Shame, Guilt, and Violence in Shakespeare
     

Shakespeare's Works

Find the poems and plays of Shakespeare shelved under the classification numbers PR 2752 - PR 2848.

    Plays    
Comedies

                      
Histories

                           
Tragedies
All's Well That Ends Well                   Edward III   Antony and Cleopatra
As You Like It   Henry IV, Part 1   Coriolanus
The Comedy of Errors   Henry IV, Part 2   Hamlet
Cymbeline   Henry V   Julius Caesar
Love's Labours Lost   Henry VI, Part 1   King Lear
Measure for Measure   Henry VI, Part 2   Macbeth
The Merchant of Venice   Henry VI, Part 3   Othello
The Merry Wives of Windsor   Henry VIII   Romeo and Juliet
A Midsummer Night's Dream   King John   Timon of Athens
Much Ado About Nothing   Richard II   Titus Andronicus
Pericles, Prince of Tyre   Richard III   Troilus and Cressida
The Taming of the Shrew       Two Noble Kinsman
The Tempest        
Twelfth Night        
The Two Gentlemen of Verona        
The Winter's Tale        

                                          Poems                                 
                           Shakespeare's sonnets (154)
                                     A Lovers' Complaint                
                                            The Passionate Pilgrim                       
                   The Phoenix and the Turtle
                                         The Rape of Lucrece                      
                                  Venus and Adonis                
 

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Most of the library materials by and about Shakespeare are shelved under the Library of Congress Classification numbers

PR 2752-PR 3112 in the Reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's main floor.