Suggested Journals
Note: For some of the journals below, you must SCROLL DOWN a little bit on the database page to view the title of the journal. Then you can usually find a "Search within" search box below the title as well as links to individual issues.
Library Course Guide for SWK 310: Social Policy & Planning
This page provides a collection of resources relevant to assignments in Social Work 310: Social Policy & Planning. Click the links below to jump to the type of source you are seeking.
Policy Tracking
Use the sources below to monitor current policy-making actions at the state and federal level.
Library Databases for SWK 310
Nexis Uni. Use this database to find variety of sources including law reviews, State and Federal cases, statutes, administrative regulations, and other sources:
Academic Search Complete: Use this EBSCO-provided database to broadly search for academic scholarly articles and sources from reputable trade magazines and news sources:
This database provides journal and newspaper coverage for most academic areas of study.
Sociological Collection: Use this EBSCO-provided database to find scholarly articles about various social problems.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): Use this database to find scholarly content and data about the education system.
News Sources: Use the following databases to find news and opinions articles related to your topic:
Google Scholar: Google Scholar contains both peer-reviewed sources and other types of scholarly sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed. If you know what you are doing, it can be a powerful tool. Consult the following library guide on how to connect Google Scholar to the CU Montgomery Library and how to evaluate the trustworthiness of sources on Google Scholar.
Statistics & Data Sources
Use these recommended sources of statistics to investigate various social, economic, and public health issues.
Federal Government Reports
Search U.S. Federal government databases for reports and other documents related to past and current laws and programs.
Public Policy Think Tanks / Research Organizations
Think tanks are also known as public policy institutes. Merriam-Webster's dictionary defines a think tank as "an institute, corporation, or group organized to study a particular subject (such as a policy issue or a scientific problem) and provide information, ideas, and advice." Use the links below to access research reports and data by think tanks and similar types of organizations.
Disclaimer: Montgomery Library at Campbellsville University does not necessarily endorse all content found on third party websites.