Skip to Main Content

Sociology

Montgomery Library's Guide to Sociology Resources

Welcome!

Using this Guide:

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

Find these books and many others in the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

REFERENCE    
REF HN 90 .R3 B3328 2019   Hate Groups and Extremist Organizations in America
REF HV 6322.7 .B3735 2019   Modern Genocide: A Documentary and Reference Guide
     
PHILOSOPHY    
B 105 .T54 B48 2022     Thought under Threat: On Superstition, Spite, and Stupidity
     
PSYCHOLOGY & RELIGION    
BF 175.5 .F45 C74 2021    The Future is Feminine: Capitalism and the Masculine Disorder
BF 575 .H3 B76 2020   Hatred: Understanding Our Most Dangerous Emotion
BF 575 .L7 N63 2023   Project Unlonely: Healing Our Crisis of Disconnection
BF 637 .S4 M386 2012   The 15 Invaluable Laws of Growth: Live Them and Reach Your Potential
BF 637 .S8 G533 2011    Outliers: The Story of Success
BF 724.55 .A35 L48 2022   Breaking the Age Code: How Your Beliefs About Aging Determine How Long & Well You Live
BX 8115 .R69 2021   Mennonite Farmers: A Global History of Place and Sustainability
     
HISTORY    
CB 151 .C57 2021   All Societies Die: How to Keep Hope Alive
DS 119.76 .T488 2023   A Day in the Life of Abed Salama (Pulitzer Prize Winner - General Nonfiction)
DS 919 .C55 2021     Twice Forgotten: African Americans and the Korean War, an Oral History
E 184 .A1 K344 2019   How to be an Antiracist
E 184 .A1 O454 2019   So You Want to Talk about Race
E 184 .M5 Z36 2022   Racial Baggage: Mexican Immigrants and Race Across the Border
E 184 .O6 H64 2020   Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning
E 184 .S75 F547 2021   The Succeeders: How Immigrant Youth Are Transforming What It Means to Belong in America
E 184 .S75 G73 2022   Conjured Bodies: Queer Racialization in Contemporary Latinidad
E 185 .H565 2021     The Cause of Freedom: A Concise History of African Americans
E 185.6 .J47 2020   Wandering in Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots
E 185.86 .P477 2019   Breathe: A Letter to My Sons
E 185.97 . L394 A3 2019   Heavy: An American Memoir
E 441 .A15 2021   The 1619 Project
E 443 .D97 2021   Mastering Emotions: Feelings, Power, and Slavery in the United States
E 450 .C8 W66 2023   Master Slave Husband Wife: An Epic Journey from Slavery to Freedom (Pulitzer Prize Winner - Biography)
     
UNITED STATES LOCAL HISTORY    
F 73.44 .J66 2023   No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggles of Boston's Black Workers in the Civil War Era (Pulitzer Prize Winner - History)
F 217 .A65 A67 2020   Appalachia in Regional Context: Place Matters
     
GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY    
G 155 .A1 G287 2021   Gamification for Tourism
GE 235 .C25 K56 2021   Refusing Death: Immigrant Women and the Fight for Environmental Justice in LA
GF 75 .F68 2022     Capitalism in the Anthropocene: Ecological Ruin or Ecological Revolution
GN 285 .W73 2020   Kindred: Neanderthal Life, Love, Death and Art
GN 671 .N5 K845 2019   A Death in the Rainforest: How a Language and a Way of Life Came to an End in Papua New Guinea
GR 221 .A8313 2019   The Complete and Original Norwegian Folktales of Asbjornsen and Moe
GR 825 .M654 2020   The Monster Theory Reader
GT 2853 .U5 B58 2021   Animal, Vegetable, Junk: A History of Food, from Sustainable to Suicidal
     
SPORTS    
GV 706.4 .L55 2022   Lifestyle Sports and Identities: Subcultural Careers through the Life Course
GV 706.5 .N678 2022    Not playing around: Intersectional identities, media representation, and the power of sport
GV 836.4 .C37 2022    Shifting Currents: A World History of Swimming
     
STATISTICS & ECONOMIC THEORY    
HA 36 .W45 2020   The Sum of the People: How the Census Has Shaped Nations, From the Ancient World to the Modern Age
HB 72 .O79 2021     Seven Deadly Economic Sins
HB 883.5 .D37 2019   Time and the Generation: Population Ethics for a Diminishing Planet
     
ECONOMIC HISTORY AND CONDITIONS    
HC 79 .E5 B68 2021   Gray to Green Communities: A Call to Action on the Housing and Climate Crises
HC 110 .P6 H34 2019   Social Poverty: Low-Income Parents and the Struggle for Family and Community Ties
     
INDUSTRIES, LAND USE, LABOR    
HD 75.6 .N657 2021     The Spirit of Green: The Economics of Collisions and Contagions in a Crowded World
HD 8039 .F72 U595 2021   Front of the House, Back of the House: Race and Inequality in the Lives of Restaurant Workers
HD 9019 .M382 U625 2022   Can Legal Weed Win?: The Blunt Realities of Cannabis Economics
     
TRANSPORTATION & COMMUNICATION    
HE 8700.76 .U6 A647     American Television During a Television Presidency
     
SOCIOLOGY    
HM 548 .G74 2019   Capitalism and the Alternatives
HM 646.2 .P86 P86 2021   Punk Identities, Punk Utopias: Global Punk and Media
HM 742 .S89 2020   Global Social Media Design: Bridging Differences Across Cultures:
HM 756 .F85 2022    Community in Urban–Rural Systems
HM 821 .P547 2022     A Brief History of Equality
HM 821 .S544 2021   Dividing Paradise: Rural Inequality and the Diminishing American Dream
HM 871 .G86 2021   Crowds: The Stadium of Ritual Intensity
     
SOCIAL PROBLEMS    
HN 79 .A13 G65 2020   The Southern Key: Class, Race, and Radicalism in the 1930s and 1940s
HN 80 .M6 F67    A Voice but No Power: Organizing for Social Justice in Minneapolis
HN 90 .S6 B357 2021   American Ideas of Equality: A Social History, 1750-2020
HN 90 .V5 V5485 2020   Violence in American Society: An Encyclopedia of Trends, Problems, and Perspectives
     
FAMILY / MARRIAGE    
HP 772.5 .M65 2021   Seen and Not Heard: Why Children's Voices Matter
HQ 76.8 .U5 D85 2019   Stonewall: The Definitive Story of the LGBTQ Rights Uprising that Changed America
HQ 77.9 .M25 2022   Side Affects: On Being Trans and Feeling Bad
HQ 755.8 .L577 2020   Parenting for a Digital Future: How Hopes and Fears About Technology Shape Children's Lives
HQ 756 .B553 2021   It's a Setup: Fathering From the Social and Economic Margins
HQ 801.82 .C87 2021   The Dating Divide: Race and Desire in the Era of Online Romance
HQ 1223 .M3363 2020   Entitled
HQ 1236.5 .U6 S556 2019   All Roads Lead to Power: Appointed and Elected Paths to Public Office for US Women
HT 169 .M628 B45 2020   Being Urban: Community, Conflict and Belonging in the Middle East
HT 1523 .D55 2021   Antiracist discourse: Theory and history of a macromovement HT 1523 .D55 2021
HV 6534 .P5 S36 2020   The Eulogy of Homicide: Race, Place, and Space in Postwar Philadelphia
     
COMMUNITIES, CLASSES, RACES    
HT 153 .V85 2022   Vulnerable Communities: Research, Policy, and Practice in Small Cities
HT 168 .L6 S257 2022     Building Downtown Los Angeles: The Politics of Race and Place in Urban America
HT 175 .G353 2021   The Misunderstood History of Gentrification: People, Planning, Preservation, and Urban Renewal, 1915-2020
HT 361 .T55 2021   City and Country: The Historical Evolution of Urban-Rural Systems
HT 1521 .A24 2020   Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man
HT 1521 .R6255 2021   Speaking of Race: How to Have Antiracist Conversations That Bring Us Together
     
SOCIAL AND PUBLIC WELFARE    
HV 40 .S6135 2022   Homelessness and Housing Advocacy: The Role of Red-Tape Warriors
HV 40.3 .W446 2022    Where Social Work Can Lead You: Journeys Into, Around, and Even Out of Social Work
HV 2113 .T26 2022   Blind in Early Modern Japan: Disability, Medicine, and Identity
HV 5090 .S93 P39 2022   Gin, Jesus, and Jim Crow: Prohibition and the Transformation of Racial and Religious Politics in the South
HV 6250.4 .W65 B869 2022    Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy
HV 6250.4 .W65 D475 2022    Every 90 Seconds: Our Common Cause Ending Violence Against Women 
HV 6250.4 .W65 G48 2020   Gender Violence: Interdisciplinary Perspectives
HV 6322.7 .A66 2021   Complying with Genocide: The Wolf You Feed
HV 6626.2 .B56 2023   Violence Never Heals: The Lifelong Effects of Intimate Partner Violence for Immigrant Women
     
INTERNATIONAL MIGRATION    
JV 6471 .K47 2019   The Gift of Global Talent: How Migration Shapes Business, Economy, & Society
     
LAW    
KF 4772 .G77 2022   When Freedom Speaks: The Boundaries and Boundlessness of our First Amendment Right
     
MUSIC    
ML 3508 .O48 2022    Antagonistic Cooperation: Jazz, Collage, Fiction, and the Shaping of African American Culture
     
LITERATURE    
PQ 7298.28 .I8982 Z4613 2023     Liliana's Invincible Summer (Pulitzer Prize Winner - Memoir/Autobiography)
PS 3515 .U789 Y68 2023   You Don't Know Us Negroes and Other Essays
     
MEDICINE    
RA 448.5 .N4 V55 2022     Under the Skin: The Hidden Toll of Racism on Health in America
RA 563 .M56 M28 2022   Just Health: Treating Structural Racism to Heal America
RT 4 .T63 2022     Dr. Nurse: Science, Politics, and the Transformation of American Nursing
     
MILITARY SCIENCE    
UB 418.T72 W58 2022   With Honor and Integrity: Transgender Troops in their Own Words

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

Library of Congress Classification Guide for Sociology:

HM 401-1281           Sociology (General)                                                                      
HM 435-477       History of sociology
HM 481-554       Theory. Method.
HM 621-656       Culture
HM 661-696       Social control
HM 701       Social systems
HM 706       Social structure
HM 711-806       Groups and organizations
HM 811-821       Deviant behavior. Social deviance.
HM 826       Social institutions
HM 831-901       Social change
HM 1001-1281       Social psychology
HN 1-995 Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.


Use this link for more detailed information: