Welcome!
Statistics, Data, & Analysis: 
Government & Non-Government Sources
Use the following websites to find data, statistics, reports, and analysis related to public policy and general societal conditions. Pay special attention to whether a website URL is a government source, which almost always end in .gov or .mil, or a non-government website that ends in .org or some other domain extension. There are a couple exceptions to this rule, so just be careful!
Disclaimer: Montgomery Library at Campbellsville University does not necessarily endorse all content found on third party websites.
Policy Tracking
Use the sources below to monitor current policy-making actions at the state and federal level.
-
Bill Watch - Kentucky LegislatureThis free service enables Kentucky.gov registered users unlimited tracking of legislation during the Kentucky Legislative Session.
-
GovInfo - Congressional BillsFind current and past congressional bills, which are defined as "legislative proposals from the House of Representatives and Senate within the United States Congress."
-
Legislative Record - Kentucky General AssemblyFind bills proposed and laws passed by the Kentucky legislature.
-
Presidential Actions - Executive Branch of the Federal GovernmentRead and monitor the executive orders from the current administration.
Federal Government Databases
Search U.S. Federal government databases for statistics, reports, and other types of documents related to past and current laws and programs.
-
MetaLib - Federal government database"MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online."
-
USA.gov - Federal government databaseFind reports and data by searching all government websites in one search.
Statistics & Data Sources
Use these recommended sources of statistics to investigate various social, economic, and public health issues. Pay close attention to whether the source is from the Kentucky state government, the U.S. federal government, or the United Nations.
-
American Fact Finder - Census Bureau SearchFind frequently requested community facts from the United States Census Bureau.
-
Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistics about crime and victims, drugs and crime, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, and the courts at all levels of government.
-
Bureau of Labor StatisticsLabor Statistics from the U.S. Department of Labor.
-
CIA World FactbookInformation in The Factbook is collected from – and coordinated with – a wide variety of US Government agencies, as well as from hundreds of published sources.
-
Commodity Markets - World BankThis World Bank publishes monthly world prices of commodities, in addition to price forecasts for key commodities.
-
Condition of EducationSummarization of different indicators that show important trends in education for 2023-2024.
-
The Employment Situation--U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsGather data from these economic news releases.
-
Environmental Indicators (United Nations Statistics Division)Disseminates global environment statistics on indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.
-
FAOSTAT - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United NationsFAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available. -
Forum on Child and Family StatisticsFosters the coordination of federal efforts to collect and report data on children and family issues.
-
Kentucky Department of Education: School District DataInformation about school districts within Kentucky.
-
Kentucky Education FactsVarious educational facts for the 2022 school year in Kentucky.
-
MetaLib - Federal government database"MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online."
-
National Center for Education StatisticsThe primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data for education.
-
Projections of Education Statistics of 2023Projections for different educational statistics on a federal level.
-
Report on the Condition of EducationIn-depth analysis of the findings within the Condition of Education report.
-
School Districts Demographics Systems: KentuckyDemographic information for school districts in Kentucky.
-
State Agency DatabasesFind links to hundreds of state agency websites to help you find data and statistics collected by various levels of government.
-
Statistical Abstracts of the United States - 1700s - 2012A summary of statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau. "The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book." "The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011."
-
Statistical Sites on the World Wide WebLinks to world-wide websites provided by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
-
Statistics on Child and Family Well-BeingProvides state and national statistics on health, child care, education, and other well-being indicators for children and families.
-
U.S. Census BureauThe Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
-
U.S. Data and StatisticsCentralized source for finding government statistics online.
-
U.S. Department of Education - Data and StatisticsED has statistics that can help policy-makers and researchers use data to make strategic decisions.
-
UNICEF DATA - Child StatisticsUNICEF's statistical information monitoring the health situation of children.
-
USA.gov - Federal government databaseFind reports and data by searching all government websites in one search.
-
USDA - Census of AgricultureThe USDA Census of Agriculture is taken every five years by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS), and provides statistics by state, county and zip code.
-
USDA - Economics, Statistics, and Market Information SystemThe USDA ESMIS reports statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
-
USDA - U.S. Department of Agriculture - HomepageUSDA provides information on food, agriculture, nutrition, and other issues based on public policy, available science, and effective management.
-
USDA Economic Research ServiceThe mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.
-
World Bank Open DataFree and open access data from World Bank sources on development in countries around the world.
Public Policy Think Tanks / Research Organizations
Think tanks are also known as public policy institutes. Merriam-Webster's dictionary defines a think tank as "an institute, corporation, or group organized to study a particular subject (such as a policy issue or a scientific problem) and provide information, ideas, and advice." Use the links below to access research reports and data by think tanks and similar types of organizations.
Disclaimer: Montgomery Library at Campbellsville University does not necessarily endorse all content found on third party websites.
-
Think Tank Search, by Harvard LibraryThink Tank Search is a Google Custom Search made publicly available on the Harvard Library website. It "searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations." Please note: "As of 02.07.2025, Think Tank Search will no longer be updated."