Articles and Databases - ESL/TESOL - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

Recommended Databases

Here are some recommended databases in the library's collection. CU Search will search these databases, but you may search them individually as well.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides journal and newspaper coverage for most academic areas of study.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
The Master Academic Package from Films on Demand contains nearly 40,000 films that will both educate and entertain students and faculty on a wide range of subjects including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of full-text academic journals and e-books in all fields.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library provides resources for achieving educational and career goals.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Updated daily, this source provides selected full-text coverage for many U.S. regional, national and international newspapers.
New York Times: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This online archive offers searchable issues of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 to up five years prior to the present.
NoveList This link opens in a new window
NoveList assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.
PBS Learning Media This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive web-based multimedia learning service offering standards-based resources.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search furnishes full-text articles from popular children's magazines for elementary school research.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global contains dissertations and theses from around the world, dating from 1743 to the present, offering full text for graduate works added since 1997 along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center contains journal articles for K-12 teachers and school librarians.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
TopicSearch is a current events database exploring popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Acronyms

Acronyms you may encounter:

AL	Applied Linguistics
CALL	Computer-Assisted Language Learning
CLIL	Content and Language Integrated Learning
EFL	English as a Foreign Language
ELT	Enhanced Language Training
ESL	English as a Second Language
ESOL	English for Speakers of Other Languages
ESP	English for Specific Purposes
IELTS	International English Language Test
L1	Language 1: A student's primary (native) language
L2	Language 2: A student's secondary language
SLA	Second Language Acquisition
TEFL	Teaching English as a Foreign Language
TESL	Teaching English as a Second Language
TESOL	Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
TOEFL	Test of English as a Foreign Language
TOEIC	Test of English for International Communication

More acronyms
Use this link to define additional acronyms.

CU Search

CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

Interlibrary Loan

CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Interlibrary Loan Information