Skip to Main Content

ESL/TESOL - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources for TESOL

Welcome!

Using this Guide:

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

Find these books and many others in the reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library:

REFERENCE    
REF PE 1128 .A2 T375 2018 Vol. 1-8   The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching
     
SOCIAL SCIENCE    
H 62.5 U5 N586 2022    Teaching Social Studies to Multilingual Learners in High School
     
EDUCATION    
LB 1025.3 .R87 2013    The Artisan Teacher: A Field Guide to Skillful Teaching
LB 1027.223 .S38 2022   Servant Teaching: Practices for Renewing Christian Higher Education
LB 1072 .R87 2020   Steps to Schoolwide Success: Systemic Practices for Connecting Social-Emotional and Academic Learning
LB 1775.2 .W64 2018   The First Days of School: How to be an Effective Teacher
LB 2838 .M3769 2013    Teacher Evaluation that Makes a Difference: A New Model for Teacher Growth and Student Achievement
LC 3715 .Q83 2020   Quality in TESOL and Teacher Education: From a Results Culture Towards a Quality Culture
LC 3731 .H45 2020   Learning in a New Language: A School Wide Approach to Support K-8 Emergent Bilinguals 
LC 1011 .P32 2022    What We Value: Public Health, Social Justice, and Educating for Democracy
LC 4165 .W35 2020      Trauma Informed Teaching Through Play Art Narrative (PAN)
     
LINGUISTICS    
P 53.4 .B76  2019   Language Assessment: Principles and Classroom Practices
P 118.2 .C356 2013   The Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
P 118.2 .S28 2017   Introducing Second Language Acquisition
P 301.5 .P47 B76 2019   How Words Make Things Happen
P 302 .J66 2019   Discourse Analysis: A Resource Book for Students
P 302 .W37 2018   Discourse Analysis: The Questions Analysts Ask and How They Answer Them
P 306.5 .M39 2022   The Routledge Guide to Teaching Translation and Interpreting Online
P 306 .M865 2022   Introducing Translation Studies Theories and Applications
     
ENGLISH LANGUAGE    
PE .R44 C66 2015   The Conversation Game: A Systematic Program for Mastering English Conversation
PE 1068 .C4 F66 2019   Learners in Transition: Chinese Students' Journeys from EFL to ESL and EIL
PE 1072 .G73 2019   The History of English: An Introduction
PE 1112 .M35 2017   The Perfect English Grammar Workbook: Simple Rules and Quizzes to Master Today's English
PE 1128 .A2 A5325 2019   Amplifying the Curriculum: Designing Quality Learning Opportunities for English Learners
PE 1128 .A2 D696 2018   Co-Teaching for English Learners: A Guide to Collaborative Planning, Instruction, Assessment, and Reflection
PE 1128 .A1 H467 2020   50 Strategies for Teaching English Language Learners
PE 1128 .A2 H586 2019   Collaborating for English Learners
PE 1128 .A2 H2965 2019   The Handbook of TESOL in K-12
PE 1128 .A2 R6378 2019   Global Englishes for Language Teaching
PE 1128 .D54 2018   ESL Games for the Classroom
PE 1477 .W55 2018   Advanced Writing Skills for Students of English

Acronyms

Acronyms you may encounter:

AL Applied Linguistics
CALL Computer-Assisted Language Learning
CLIL                             Content and Language Integrated Learning                                            
EFL English as a Foreign Language
ELT Enhanced Language Training
ESL English as a Second Language
ESOL English for Speakers of Other Languages
ESP English for Specific Purposes
IELTS International English Language Test
L1 Language 1: A student's primary (native) language
L2 Language 2: A student's secondary language
SLA Second Language Acquisition
TEFL       Teaching English as a Foreign Language
TESL Teaching English as a Second Language
TESOL Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
TOEFL Test of English as a Foreign Language
TOEIC Test of English for International Communication

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections in Montgomery Library.

Library of Congress Classification Guide to Resources for Language and Literature: 

P         Language and linguistics
PA Classical languages & literature
PB-PH                            Modern European languages & literature
PJ            Oriental languages & literature
PK Indo-Iranian languages & literature
PL Languages & literature of Eastern Asia, Oceania, Africa
PM American Indian languages
PN Literary history and collections
PQ French, Italian, Spanish & Portuguese literature
PR English literature
PS American literature
PT Germanic literature
PZ Fiction and children's literature

 

Library of Congress Classification Guide to Resources in Education: 

L                                   General                                                                  
LA History of Education
LB Theory and Practice of Education
LC Special Aspects of Education
LD Individual Institutions - U.S.
LE    Individual Institutions - Other Americas         
LF Individual Institutions - Europe
LG Individual Institutions - Asia/Africa/Oceania
LH College Publications
LJ Student Fraternities and Sororities
LT Textbooks
PZ Children's Literature

 

For a more detailed breakdown of Library of Congress Classification, use these links: