United States History 1603-1846
Selected Works
Writings: with other Narratives of Roanoke, Jamestown, and the First English Settlements of America [John Smith] (2007)
Call Number: F 229 .S592 2007
Becoming Americans: Four Centuries of Immigrant Writing (2009)
Call Number: PS 508 .I45 B43 2009
Diary of Cotton Mather (1957)
Call Number: F67.M4213 1957
Diary of Samuel Sewall, 1674-1729 (1973)
Call Number: E67 .S514 1973
Jonathan Edwards: Writings from the Great Awakening (2013)
Call Number: BX 7260 .E3 A92 2013
Memoir: Select Thoughts and Sermons of the Late Rev. Edward Payson (1846)
Call Number: BX7260 .P4 C8 1846 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Great American Gentleman: William Byrd of Westover in Virginia, His Secret Diary for the years 1709-1712 (1963)
Call Number: F229 .B9716
The Diary of Colonel Landon Carter of Sabine Hall, 1752-1778 (1965)
Call Number: F229 .C29
The American revolution in the South [Henry "Light Horse Harry" Lee] (1969)
Call Number: E230.5.S7 L494 1969
Autobiography, Poor Richard, and later writings : letters from London, 1757-1775, Paris, 1776-1785, Philadelphia, 1785-1790, Poor Richard's almanack, 1733-1758, the autobiography [Benjamin Franklin] (1997)
Call Number: E 302 .F82 1997
The Declaration of Independence in Historical Context: American State Papers, Petitions, Proclamations and Letters of the Delegates to the First National Congresses (2014)
Call Number: Ref E 221 .D38 2014
Diary and Autobiography of John Adams (1964)
Call Number: E 322 .A3 1964
A Hessian Diary of the American Revolution [Johann Conrad Dohla] (1990)
Call Number: E268 .D6413
Diary of the American War: A Hessian Journal [Johann von Ewald, 1744-1813] (1979)
Call Number: E268 .E9213
At General Howe's Side, 1776-1778: The Diary of General William Howe's Aide de Camp, Captain Friedrich von Muenchhausen (1976)
Call Number: OVER/E267 .M9313 1974
The American rebellion; Sir Henry Clinton's narrative of his campaigns, 1775-1782, with an appendix of original documents (1954)
Call Number: E267 .C63 1954
Slave Narratives (2000)
Call Number: E444 .S56 2000
American Anti-slavery Writings: Colonial Beginnings to Emancipation (2013)
Call Number: E 446 .A48 2012
American Speeches (2006)
Call Number: E 183 .A498 2006
The American Revolution: Writings from the War of Independence (2001)
Call Number: E203 .A579 2001
The Selected Papers of John Jay (2010-)
Call Number: E302 .J422
John Adams: Revolutionary Writings, 1755-1775 (2011)
Call Number: E 302 .A263 2011
John Adams: Revolutionary Writings, 1775-1783 (2011)
Call Number: E 302 .A2652 2011
Legal Papers of John Adams (1965)
Call Number: E302.A23 1965
Papers of George Washington (1985-)
Call Number: E 312.72 2009
Official Letters to the Honorable American Congress : written, during the War between the United Colonies and Great Britain / by His Excellency George Washington ; copied, by special permission, from the Original Papers preserved in the Office of the Secretary of State, Philadelphia (1795)
Call Number: E 203 .W280 1795
Writings [of Thomas Jefferson] (1984)
Call Number: E 302 .J442 1984
Thomas Jefferson's Farm book, with commentary and relevant extracts from other writings (1953)
Call Number: S451.V8 J4 1953
The Papers of James Madison (1984-)
Call Number: E302 .M19
The Papers of James Monroe (2003-)
Call Number: E302 .M74 2003
Portrait of a Patriot: The Major Political and Legal Papers of Josiah Quincy Junior (2005)
Call Number: E 263 .M4 Q72 2005
The Debate on the Constitution : Federalist and Antifederalist speeches, articles, and letters during the struggle over ratification (1993)
Call Number: JK155 .D33 1993
The American Constitution--For and Against : the Federalist and Anti-Federalist Papers (1987)
Call Number: KF 4515 .A44 1987
United States History 1846-1865
Selected Works
Slave Narratives (2000)
Call Number: E444 .S56 2000
The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass : His Early Life as a Slave, His Escape from Bondage, and His Complete History (2003)
Call Number: E 449 .D7382 2003
Up from Slavery: An Autobiography [of Booker T. Washington] (1971)
Call Number: E185.97 .W3164 1971 093940
American Anti-slavery Writings: Colonial Beginnings to Emancipation (2013)
Call Number: PS 3569 .O6547 E8 2013
Becoming Americans: Four Centuries of Immigrant Writing (2009)
Call Number: PS 508 .I45 B43 2009
American Speeches (2006)
Call Number: E 183 .A498 2006
Polk; the Diary of a President, 1845-1849, covering the Mexican War, the Acquisition of Oregon, and the Conquest of California and the Southwest (1952)
Call Number: E 416 .P77 1952
The Mexican War Diary of Thomas D. Tennery (1970)
Call Number: E411 .T45 1970
Buckskin Joe : Being the Unique and Vivid Memoirs of Edward Jonathan Hoyt, Hunter-Trapper, Scout, Soldier, Showman, Frontiersman, and Friend of the Indians, 1840-1918 (1988)
Call Number: F594 .H8 1988
The War of the Rebellion : a Compilation of the Official Records of he Union and Confederate Armies (1880-1901)
Call Number: E464 .U6 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln (1953-1955)
Call Number: E457.91 1953 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Papers of Abraham Lincoln: Legal Documents and Cases (2008-)
Call Number: KF 213 .L53 S76 2008
The Civil War Diary of Gideon Welles, Lincoln's Secretary of the Navy. By Gideon Welles.
Call Number: E 467.1 .W46 A3 2014b.
The Hidden Lincoln: From the Letters and Papers of William H. Herndon (1938)
Call Number: HF5549.F7 1942
Herndon on Lincoln: Letters (2016)
Call Number: E 457 .H579 2016
John Sherman's Recollections of Forty Years in the House, Senate and Cabinet : An Autobiography (1895)
Call Number: E664 .S57 S5 1895 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Civil War Papers of George B. McClellan: Selected Correspondence, 1860-1865 (1989)
Call Number: E467.1.M2 A4 1989 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Memoirs of General WilliamT. Sherman (1875)
Call Number: E 467.1 .S55 S52 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Personal Memoirs of U.S. Grant (1885)
Call Number: E 672 .G76 1885
The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant (1967-)
Call Number: E660 .G756 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Personal Memoirs of P. H. Sheridan, General, United States Army (1888)
Call Number: E467.1.S54 S53 1888 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Autobiography of Oliver Otis Howard, major-general, United States army (1908)
Call Number: E 467.1 .H8 H8 1908 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Memoir of Maj.-Gen. George H. Thomas (1881)
Call Number: E467.1 .T4 J6 1881 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Ten Years in the Saddle : The Memoir of William Woods Averell (1978)
Call Number: E601 .A85 1978
The Papers of Andrew Johnson (1967-)
Call Number: E415.6 .J65 1967 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Papers of Jefferson Davis (1971-)
Call Number: E467.1 .D2596 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Messages and Papers of Jefferson Davis and the Confederacy, including Diplomatic Correspondence, 1861-1865 (1966)
Call Number: E487 .C746 1966 Vol.1 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Wartime Papers of R.E. Lee (1961)
Call Number: E470 .L49 1961
From Manassas to Appomattox, Memoirs of the Civil War in America [James Longstreet] (1969)
Call Number: E470 .L85 1969
The Civil War: The First Year as told by Those Who Lived It (2011)
Call Number: E 464 .S56 2011
An Aide-de-Camp of Lee : being the Papers of Colonel Charles Marshall, sometime Aide-de-Camp, Military Secretary, and Assistant Adjutant General on the Staff of Robert E. Lee, 1862-1865 (1927)
Call Number: E470.M38A42 1927
Letters from Lee's Army; or, Memoirs of Life in and out of the Army in Virginia during the War Between the States. Compiled by Susan Leigh Blackford from Original and Contemporaneous Memoirs, Correspondence and Diaries, Annotated by her husband, Charles Minor Blackford (1962)
Call Number: E 605 .B63 1962x [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Great Invasion of 1863 (1959)
Call Number: E 475.5 .H72 1959 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Diary [of George Templeton Strong, 1835-1875] (1952)
Call Number: E415.9.S86 A3 1953
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass : Authoritative Text, Contexts, Criticism (1996)
Call Number: E 449 .D75 D68 1996
Diary of Edward Bates, 1859-1866 (1933)
Call Number: E 172 .A60 1930 vol.4
Diary of Charles Francis Adams (1974)
Call Number: E 377
An Artilleryman's Diary [Jenkin Lloyd Jones] (1914)
Call Number: F 576 .W62 1914
A Diary from Dixie [Mary Boykin Miller Chestnut] (1949)
Call Number: E487 .C52 1949
Mary Chesnut's Civil War (1981)
Call Number: E487 .C5
Notes from a Colored Girl: The Civil War Pocket Diaries of Emilie Frances Davis (2014)
Call Number: F158.44 .W55 2014
My Diary, North and South [Sir William Howard Russell] (1954)
Call Number: E167 .R9635 1954
The Fremantle Diary: A Journal of the Confederacy [Arthur Fremantle] (1954)
Call Number: F214.L67 F73 1954
A Rebel War Clerk's Diary at the Confederate States Capital [J.B. Jones, 1810-1866] (1982)
Call Number: E487 .J73
Exile in Richmond : the Confederate journal of Henri Garidel (2001)
Call Number: E 605 .G265 2001
Inside the Confederate Government; the Diary of Robert Garlick Hill Kean, Head of the Bureau of War (1957)
Call Number: E487 .K4 1957 [Library Use Only]
Douglas's Texas Battery, CSA [James Postell Douglas] (1966)
Call Number: E580.4.D6 D6
The Civil War Diary of Josiah Gorgas (1947)
Call Number: E470 .G69 1947
The Civil War Diary of Allen Morgan Geer, Twentieth Regiment, Illinois Volunteers (1977)
Call Number: E 505.5 20th .G43 1977
Army Memoirs of Lucius W. Barber, Company "D," 15th Illinois Volunteer Infantry : May 24, 1861, to Sept. 30, 1865 (1984)
Call Number: E 505.5 15th .B37 1984
Diary of a Civil War hero [Michael Doughtery]. With a pictorial history of the war by James Boylan (1960)
Call Number: E611 .D72 1960
The Diary of a Dead Man : Letters and Diary of Private Ira S. Pettit, Wilson, Niagara County, New York, who served Company B, 2nd Battalion, and Company F, 1st Battalion, 11th Regiment, 2nd Brigade, 2nd Division, 5th Army Corps, United States Army, during the War Between the States (1976)
Call Number: E601 .P52 1976
A Diary of Battle; the Personal Journals of Colonel Charles S. Wainwright, 1861-1865 (1962)
Call Number: ML410 .S932 A335 1963 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
The Union must stand : the Civil War Diary of John Quincy Adams Campbell, Fifth Iowa Volunteer Infantry (2000)
Call Number: E507.5 5th .C36 2000
A Yankee at Arms : the Diary of Lieutenant Augustus D. Ayling, 29th Massachusetts Volunteers (1999)
Call Number: E513.5 29th .A95 1999 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Brother Against Brother : the Lost Civil War Diary of Lt. Edmund Halsey (1997)
Call Number: E 521.5 15th .H35 1997 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
"For the sake of my country" : the Diary of Col. W.W. Ward, 9th Tennessee Cavalry, Morgan's Brigade, C.S.A. (1992)
Call Number: E579.6 9th .W36
Valleys of the Shadow : the Memoir of Confederate Captain Reuben G. Clark, Company I, 59th Tennessee Mounted Infantry (1994)
Call Number: E 615 .C57 1994
All for the Union : the Civil War Diary and Letters of Elisha Hunt Rhodes (1991)
Call Number: E 528.5 2nd .R46 1991 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Joshua DeWees : His Civil War Diary (1991)
Call Number: E492.3 .D48 1991 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
A Soldier's Recollections : Leaves from the Diary of a Young Confederate, with an Oration on the Motives and Aims of the Soldiers of the South [Randolph Harrison McKimm] (1910, 1984)
Call Number: E605 .M47
Rebel Private, Front and Rear : Memoirs of a Confederate Soldier [William Andrew Fletcher] (1995)
Call Number: E 605 .F58 1995
Military Memoirs of a Confederate [Edward Porter Alexander] (1962)
Call Number: E470 .A43M54 1962 [Library Use Only, Colvin Archives]
Mosby's Rangers : a record of the operations of the Forty-third Battalion Virginia Cavalry ... from the Diary of a private [James Joseph Williamson] (1895, 1982)
Call Number: E581.6 43rd .W54
Soldiering : the Civil War Diary of Rice C. Bull, 123rd New York Volunteer Infantry (1977)
Call Number: E601 .B94 1977
Kemper County Rebel: the Civil War Diary of Robert Masten Holmes, C.S.A. (1973)
Call Number: E605 .H77
The Story of the Great March. From the Diary of a Staff Officer. By Brevet Major George Ward Nichols, Aid-de-camp to General Sherman (1972)
Call Number: E476.69.N61 1972
A Union Soldier in the Land of the Vanquished; the Diary of Sergeant Mathew Woodruff, June-December, 1865 (1969)
Call Number: E601 .W86
A Webfoot Volunteer. The Diary of William M. Hilleary 1864-1866 (1965)
Call Number: E526 .N44 W42 1965
Inside Lincoln's Army; the Diary of Marsena Rudolph Patrick, Provost Marshall General, Army of the Potomac (1964)
Call Number: E 470 .P3 1964 [Library Use Only]
"Dear Friends." The Civil War Letters and Diary of Charles Edwin Cort (1962)
Call Number: E464 .C67 D42 1962
Three Years in the Army of the Cumberland : the Letters and Diary of Major James A. Connolly (1959)
Call Number: E601 .C765
A Strange Life: Selected Essays of Louisa May Alcott [includes "Hospital Sketches," 1863] (2023)
Call Number: PS1016 .R67 2023: