In the Shadow of Fear: America and the World in 1950 by 
Freedom's Dominion (Winner of the Pulitzer Prize) by 
Gin, Jesus, and Jim Crow by 
Blood and Treasure: Daniel Boone and the Fight for America’s First Frontier by 
Byzantine Intersectionality: Sexuality, Gender, and Race in the Middle Ages by 
Caribbean Migrations: The Legacies of Colonialism by 
Cuba: An American History by 
Documents of the Harlem Renaissance by 
Paramilitarism: Mass Violence in the Shadow of the State by 
Religious Transformation in Maya Guatemala by 
Romantic Egypt: Abyssal Ground of British Romanticism by 
South to America: A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon in Understand the Soul of a Nation by 
Ambushed! The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield by 
The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts by Stay up-to-date with the Montgomery Library on social media!
Using this Guide: 
New to the Shelf!
This is a sampling of the some of the newer volumes found on the shelves in the Circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.
| RELIGION | ||
| BR 165 .S235 2024 | The First Christian Communities, 32--380 CE: Quiet Christians, Visible Martyrs, and Compelling Texts | |
| HISTORY (GENERAL) | ||
| D 13 .B26 2021 | The Ever-Changing Past: Why All History is Revisionist History | |
| D 25 .M285 2020 | War: How Conflict Shaped Us | |
| D 756.5 .N6 R93 2019 | Cornelius Ryan: The Longest Day, A Bridge Too Far | |
| D 767.99 .I9 R544 2020 | Flamethrower: Iwo Jima Medal of Honor Recipient and U.S. Marine Woody Williams and His Controversial Award, Japan's Holocaust and the Pacific War | |
| D 804.348 .83 2019 | Yellow Star, Red Star: Holocaust Remembrance After Communism | |
| D 810 .C4 A44313 2019 | Last Witnesses: An Oral History of the Children of World War II | |
| D 810 .H4 R63 2021 | Sheer Misery: Soldiers in Battle in WWII | |
| D 810 .S8 M337 2019 | Return to the Reich | |
| HISTORY OF EUROPE | ||
| DA 30 .S77 2019 | The Story of Britain: A History of the Great Ages | |
| DD 180.5 .P37 2020 | Emperor: A New Life of Charles V | |
| DF 211 .E77 2022 | The Essential Greek Historians | |
| DF 531 .B48 2020 | Byzantine Intersectionality: Sexuality, Gender, and Race in the Middle Ages | |
| DG 82 .K66 2020 | Crossing the Pomerium: The Boundaries of Political, Religious, and Military Institutions from Caesar to Constantine | |
| DG 806.2 .M345 2020 | The Eternal City: A History of Rome in Maps | |
| DK 293 .A44 2020 | Alternative Globalizations: Eastern Europe and the Postcolonial World | |
| DK 508.8 .B835 2020 | The Burden of the Past: History, Memory, and Identity in Contemporary Ukraine | |
| DK 651 .K2 R67 2020 | Tatar Empire: Kazan's Muslims and the Making of Imperial Russia | |
| HISTORY OF ASIA & THE MIDDLE EAST | ||
| DS 38.4 .S2 P45 2019 | The Life and Legend of the Sultan Saladin | |
| DS 62.2 .U G594 2020 | Losing the Long Game: The False Promise of Regime Change in the Middle East | |
| DS 126.6 .A97 H44 2020 | The Caravan: Abdallah Azzam and the Rise of Global Jihad | |
| DS 128.2 .O547 2019 | Days of Awe: Reimagining Jewishness in Solidarity with Palestinians | |
| DS 218 .M28 2019 | Arabs | |
| DS 341 .M43 2020 | Indo-Pacific Empire: China, America and the Contest for the World's Pivotal Region | |
| DS 778.7 .W325 2019 | Agents of Disorder: Inside China's Cultural Revolution | |
| HISTORY OF AFRICA | ||
| DT 352.65 .T56 2020 | A History of West Central Africa to 1850 | |
| DT 352.7 .H373 2019 | Land of Tears: The Exploration and Exploitation of Equatorial Africa | |
| DT 476 .G74 2019 | A Fistful of Shells | |
| PR 447 .F39 2021 | Romantic Egypt: Abyssal Ground of British Romanticism | |
| HISTORY: THE AMERICAS | ||
| E 40 .G53 2019 | El Norte: The Epic and Forgotten Story of Hispanic North America | |
| E 77 .T797 2019 | The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee: Native America from 1890 to the Present | |
| E 87 .B66 P43 2021 | The Taking of Jemima Boone: Colonial Settlers, Tribal Nations, and the Kidnap that Shaped America | |
| E 93 .O78 2019 | Surviving Genocide: Native Nations and the United States from the American Revolution to Bleeding Kansas | |
| E 98 .S67 M55 2019 | Indians on the Move: Native American Mobility and Urbanization in the Twentieth Century | |
| E 99 .S54 H28 2020 | Beneath the Backbone of the World: Blackfoot People and the North American Borderlands, 1720-1877 | |
| E 99 .T34 H35 2019 | Lakota America: A New History of Indigenous Power | |
| E 99 .W2 S545 2019 | This Land is Their Land: The Wampanoag Indians, Plymouth Colony, and the Troubled History of Thanksgiving | |
| UNITED STATES | ||
| E 184.A1 C675 2022 | Freedom's Dominion | |
| E 185 .F625 2021 | Four hundred souls : a community history of African America | |
| E 185.18 .C64 2021 | The Colored Conventions Movement : Black Organizing in the Nineteenth Century | |
| E 185.18 .M337 2021 | Until Justice Be Done: America's First Civil Rights Movement, from the Revolution to Reconstruction | |
| E 185.61 .D646 2021 | Documents of the Harlem Renaissance | |
| E 185.615 .M238 2021 | Revolution In Our Time: The Black Panther Party's Promise to the People | |
| E 185.86 .K46 2021 | Hood Feminism: notes from the women that movement forgot | |
| E 185.93 .K3 L46 2019 | Slaves, Slaveholders and a Kentucky Community's Struggle Toward Freedom | |
| E 185.93 .M6 T45 2019 | Remembering Emmett Till | |
| E 185.97 .R39 V37 2020 | The Scholar and the Struggle: Lawrence Reddick's Crusade for Black History and Black Power | |
| E 276 .W66 2019 | Women in the American Revolution | |
| E 312.19 .W35 S38 2019 | The Widow Washington: The Life of Mary Washington | |
| E 441 .A15 2021 | The 1619 Project | |
| E 443 .B245 2021 | The Mark of Slavery: Disability, Race, and Gender in Antebellum America | |
| E 443 .J775 2019 | They Were Her Property | |
| E 445 .N5 H37 2019 | Black Lives, Native Lands, White Worlds: A History of Slavery in New England | |
| E 445 .S7 M55 2021 | All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley's Sack, a Black Family Keepsake 2021 National Book Award for Nonfiction | |
| E 449 .D75 R66 2020 | A Glorious Liberty | |
| E 467.1 .C47 W55 2023 | On Great Fields: The Life and Unlikely Heroism of Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain | |
| E 468.9 .B883 2020 | An Environmental History of the Civil War | |
| E 628 .M35 2019 | Women's War | |
| E 635 . B98 2021 | A Holy Baptism of Fire and Blood: The Bible and the American Civil War | |
| E 687.9 .J37 2021 | Ambushed! The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield | |
| E 744.5 .G55 2022 | Global Perceptions of the United States: The Trump Effect | |
| E 745 .T317 T73 2019 | Maxwell Taylor's Cold War: From Berlin to Vietnam | |
| E 748 .G296 C63 2019 | A Giant from Georgia: The Life of U.S. Senator Walter F. George, 1878-1957 | |
| E 807 .W695 2019 | A Christian and a Democrat: A Religious Biography of Franklin D. Roosevelt | |
| E 813 .B86 2023 | In the Shadow of Fear: America and the World in 1950 | |
| JK 1924 .J66 2020 | Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and Insisted on Equality for All | |
| UNITED STATES LOCAL HISTORY | ||
| F 216.2 .P47 2022 | South to America: A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation (2022 National Book Award) | |
| F 220 .A1 A4 2020 | Southern Journey: The Migrations of the American South 1790-2020 | |
| F 229 .K88 2019 | Pocahontas and the English Boys | |
| F 232.S7 H65 2021 | Surviving Southampton: African American Women and Resistance in Nat Turner's Community | |
| F 249 .H95 F35 2019 | Black Huntington: An Appalachian Story | |
| F 264 .W7 Z83 2021 | Wilmington's Lie: The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy | |
| F 349 .H36 S78 2019 | Hattiesburg | |
| F 451 .B75 2019 | A Brief History of Northern Kentucky | |
| F 454 .B66 D78 2022 | Blood and Treasure: Daniel Boone and the Fight for America's First Founder | |
| F 460 .A24 M87 2019 | Voices of African Immigrants in Kentucky: Migration, Identity, and Transnationality | |
| F 548.9 .N4 R66 2020 | Roots of the Black Chicago Renaissance: New Negro Writers, Artists, and Intellectuals 1893-1930 | |
| F 869 .S39 J3586 2019 | The Gateway to the Pacific: Japanese Americans and the Remaking of San Francisco | |
| CANADA, LATIN AMERICA, CARIBBEAN AREA | ||
| F 1219.76 .S64 B47 2021 | Everyday Life in the Aztec World | |
| F 1226 .H36 2019 | A Concise History of Mexico | |
| F 1465.3 .R4 R45 2021 | Religious Transformation in Maya Guatemala: Cultural Collapse and Christian Pentecostal Revitalization | |
| F 1621 .D83 2019 | Freedom Roots: Histories from the Caribbean | |
| F 1776 .F397 2020 | Cuba : An American History | |
| F 2169 .C3677 2021 | Caribbean Migrations: The Legacies of Colonialism | |
| F 2521 .B768 2019 | The Brazil Reader | |
| GEOGRAPHY | ||
| G 246 .C7 N53 2020 | Captain Cook Rediscovered: Voyaging to the Icy Latitudes | |
| G 535 .L45 2019 | Pirates: A New History, from Vikings to Somali Raiders | |
| WATER SPORTS | ||
| GV 836.4 .C37 2022 | Shifting Currents: A World History of Swimming | |
| HISTORY/SOCIAL SCIENCES | ||
| HC 103 .B546 2022 | A Monetary and Fiscal History of the United States, 1961-2021 | |
| HM 671 .K33 2021 | We Do This 'Til We Free Us: Abolitionist Organizing and Transforming Justice | |
| HM 756 .F85 2022 | Community in Urban–Rural Systems | |
| HN 79 .A13 G65 2020 | The Southern Key: Class, Race and Radicalism in the 1930s and 1940s | |
| HQ 1236.5 .U6 R69 2020 | Votes for Women!: The American Woman Suffrage Movement and the Nineteenth Amendment | |
| HQ 1597 .C464 2019 | The Right to Rule and the Rights of Women: Queen Victoria and the Women's Movement | |
| HT 1523 .D55 2021 | Antiracist discourse: Theory and history of a macromovement | |
| HV 2113 .T26 2022 | Blind in Early Modern Japan: Disability, Medicine, and Identity | |
| HV 5090 .S93 P39 2022 | Gin, Jesus, and Jim Crow: Prohibition and the Transformation of Racial and Religious Politics in the South | |
| HV 6515 .K57 2020 | The Last Book on the Left: Stories of Murder and Mayhem from History's Most Notorious Serial Killers | |
| HISTORY--TECHNOLOGY | ||
| TX 945.3 .C46 2021 | Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America 2021 Pulitzer Prize for History | |
| HISTORY--MILITARY | ||
| UA 10 .U54 2022 | Paramilitarism: Mass Violence in the Shadow of the State | |
| MANUSCRIPTS & PALEOGRAPHY | ||
| Z 106.5 .E85 D43 2023 | The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts |
Print Books Containing Primary Historical Sources
Follow the links below to browse a large collection of historical texts held by Montgomery Library.
CU Search
eBook Collection by EBSCOhost
Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's e-book collection, which contains over 180,000 books.
Browse the Collection
Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.
Library of Congress Classification Guide for History:
| C 1-CT 9999 | Auxilliary Sciences of History (General) | |
| CB 3-482 | History of Civilization | |
| CC 1-960 | Archaeology | |
| CD 1-6471 | Diplomatics. Archives. Seals | |
| CE 1-97 | Technical Chronology. Calendar | |
| CJ 1-6661 | Numismatics | |
| CN 1-1355 | Inscriptions. Epigraphy | |
| CR 1-6305 | Heraldry | |
| CS 1-3090 | Geneology | |
| CT 21-9999 | Biography | |
| D 1-2009 | History (General) | |
| D 51-90 | Ancient history | |
| D11-203 | Medieval history, 476-1453 | |
| D 205-2009 | Modern history, 1453- | |
| DA 1-995 | History of Great Britain | |
| DAW 1001-DR 2855 | History of Eastern and Western Europe | |
| DS 1-937 | History of Asia | |
| DT 1-3415 | History of Africa | |
| DU 1-950 | History of Oceania | |
| DX 101-301 | History of Gypsies | |
| E 11-143 | America: History | |
| E 151-889 | United States history | |
| F 1-975 | United States local history | |
| F 1001-1145.2 | Canada: History | |
| F 1201-3799 | Latin America: History |
Use these links for more detailed information: