Skip to Main Content

Theatre & Dance

Montgomery Library's Guide to Theatre and Dance Resources

Welcome!

Using this Guide:     

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.   
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

Find these books and many others in the reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library:

 

DANCE    
GV 1588 .D35 2020   Dance Theory: Source Readings from Two Millennia of Western Dance
GV 1689 .C67 2020   Corporeal Politics: Dancing East Asia
GV 1784 .R66 2022   Rooted Jazz Dance: Africanist Aesthetics and Equity in the Twenty-First Century
GV 1785 .A1 V35 2002   Brotherhood Rhythm: The Jazz Tap Dancing of the Nicholas Brothers
GV 1785 .H267 H35 2019   Making Dances that Matter
GV 1787.O84 2021   The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Ballet
GV 1788 .B37 2021   The Pointe Book: Shoes, Training, Technique: 4th Edition
     
MUSIC    
ML 410 .B566 R37 2021   Berstein and Robbins: The Early Ballets
ML 1723.8 .V6 B18 2021   The Operetta Empire: Music Theater in Early Twentieth-Century Vienna
MT 956 .F59 2022   So You Want to Sing Musical Theatre: A Guide for Performers
     
DRAMA    
LB 1027 .F53 2020   All the Classroom's a Stage: Applying Theater Principles to Teaching Techniques
PN 1590 .S6 P4875 2019   Performing the Progressive Era: Immigration, Urban Life, and Nationalism on Stage
PN 1661 .C38 2021     The Art of Dramaturgy
PN 1992.8 .H54 L38 2022   Latinx TV in the Twenty-First Century
PN 1995.9 .A8 C88 2021   Movies On Our Minds: The Evolution of Cinematic Engagement
PN 1995.9 .E96 W26 2020   Cinema Expanded: Avant-Garde Film in the Age of Intermedia
PN 1995.9 .P7 B38 2023   Creative Producing: A Pitch-to-Picture Guide to Movie Development
PN 1996 .P467 2022   Scene Writing: The Missing Manual for Screenwriters
PN 2037 .K76 2019   The Secret Life of Theater: On the Nature and Function of Theatrical Representation
PN 2041 .W37 M38 2021   Broadway Goes to War: American Theater during World War II
PN 2053 .E87 2021   Working Backstage: A Cultural History and Ethnography of Technical Theater Labor
PN 2053 .S93 2019   A Theory of Dramaturgy
PN 2061 .R745 2019   Michael Chekhov's Acting Technique
PN 2071 .M6 S56 2020   The Lucid Body: A Guide for the Physical Actor
PN 2091 .S8 L275 2022   Standby: An Approach to Theatrical Design
PN 2091 .S8 S618 2019   Theory for Theatre Studies: Space
PN 2219 .O8 K66 2022     On Site: Methods for Site-specific Performance Creation
PN 2270 .A35 F67 2020   Sistuhs in the Struggle: An Oral History of Black Arts Movement Theater and Performance
PN 2287 .B4845 V35 2019   Ray Bolger
     
AMERICAN LITERATURE    
PS 3604 .R873 F35 2019   Fairview: A Play   [2019 Pulitzer Prize for Drama]
     
TECHNOLOGY    
TT 520 .B54 2020   Historical Pattern Archive: Women's Clothing 1837-1969
     
HISTORY    
DG 445 .C378 2021   The Italian Renaissance and the Origins of the Modern Humanities: An Intellectual History, 1400-1800

New E-Books

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Catalog

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

         Library of Congress Classification Guide for the Theater and Dance

  GV 1580-1799.4 Dancing
  MT 955-956 Musical theater
  MT 960 Music in the theater
            PN 1530                          The monologue                                           
  PN 1551 The dialogue
  PN 1560-1590 The performing arts.  Show business
  PN 1585-1589        Centers for the performing arts
  PN 1600-3307 Drama
  PN 1635-1650       Relation to, and treatment of special subjects
  PN 1660-1693       Technique of dramatic composition
  PN 1720-1861          History
  PN 1865-1988         Special types
  PN 2000-3307       Dramatic representation. The theater
  PN 2061-2071             Art of acting
  PN 2085-2091             The stage and accessories
  PN 2131-2193             By period
  PN 2131-2145                   Ancient
  PN 2152-2160                   Medieval
  PN 2171-2179                   Renaissance
  PN 2181-2193                   Modern
  PN 2219.3-3030             Special regions or countries
  PN 3035             The Jewish theater
  PN 3151-3171             Amateur theater
  PN 3175-3191             College and school theatricals
  PN 3203-3299             Tableaux pageants, "Happenings," etc.