Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theology & Religion

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources in Theology

Find Commentaries

To find theological commentaries and dictionaries in Montgomery Library, first know that there are three sections. The In Reference section is a list of commentaries and dictionaries for library use only. The Collection section is sets of commentaries and dictionaries with several volumes, usually separated by book of the Bible. The Topic section is individual commentaries and dictionaries separated by subject (i.e. the Pentateuch, the Synoptic Gospels, Paul, etc).

In Reference

The Reference section are items reserved to be used in the library only. Students are welcome to use the books while in the library, or may make copies of the pages they need. If a commentary or dictionary is not available from the circulating resources because it is checked out by another student, often a copy can be found in the Reference section. To find this section, bear right at the circulation desk, Reference is in the corner on the right.

These items are not able to be checked out from the library. Available for use in the library only.

Title of Volume Set Call Number             
Anchor Bible Dictionary   REF BS 440 .A54
Anchor Yale Bible (AYB)   REF BS 192.2 .A1
Broadman Bible Commentary   REF BS 491.2 .B67
Dictionary of New Testament Background   REF BS 2312 .D53 2000
Expositor's Bible Commentary   REF BS 491.2 .E96
Holman Bible Illustrated Dictionary   REF BS 440 .H65 2015
Holman Bible Dictionary   REF BS 440 .H69 1991
Mercer Bible Dictionary      REF BS 440 .M429 1991
New Bible Dictionary   REF BS 1485.2 .G55 1982
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis   REF BS 440 .N438 1997 Vol. 1-5
New Interpreter's BIble   REF BS 491.2 .N484
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible   REF BS 440 .N445 2006
New Strong's Concordance   REF BS 425 .S8 1990
     

By Collection

The Collection section is sets of commentaries and dictionaries with several volumes, usually separated by book of the Bible. To find this section, walking towards the back of the library, the row will be on your left, labeled "BR 333.5 - BS 1151.2".

These items are able to be checked out from the library.

Title of Volume Set Call Number 
Anchor Yale Bible (AYB)   BS 192.2 .A1 
Broadman Bible Commentary   BS 491.2 .B67
International Critical Commentary (ICC)   BS 491 .I6
Interpreter's Bible   BS 491.2 I55
New American Commentary (NAC)   BS 491.2 .N48
New International Commentary (NICOT, NICNT)      BS 491.2 .N484
Strongs Concordance   BS 425 .S8 1990
Tyndale Old Testament Commentary (TOTC)   BS 491.2 .T95
Tyndale New Testament Commentary (TNTC)   BS 491.2 .T96
Word Biblical Commentary (WBC)   BS 491.2 .W67
     

By Topic

The Topic section is individual commentaries and dictionaries separated by subject (i.e. the Pentateuch, the Synoptic Gospels, Paul, etc). To find this section, walking towards the back of the library, the row will be on your right, labeled "BS 1151.2 - BT 127.2".

These items are able to be checked out from the library.

Title Call Number 
Baker Exegetical Commentary on the NT - John   BS 2615.53 .K67 2004
Baker Exegetical Commentary on the NT - Romans   BS 2665.3 .S36
Baker Exegetical Commentary on the NT - Jude, 2 Peter   BS 2815.53 .G74 2008
     
Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible - Colossians   BS 2715.53 .S45 2014
Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible - Revelation   BS 2825.53 .M36 2010
     
Interpretation Commentary - Genesis   BS 1235.3 .B78
Interpretation Commentary - Ezra, Nehemiah   BS 1355.3 .T47
Interpretation Commentary - Job   BS 1415.3 .J36
Interpretation Commentary - Jeremiah   BS 1525.3 .C57 1988
Interpretation Commentary - Ezekiel   BS 1545.3 .B56
Interpretation Commentary - Hosea to Micah   BS 1560 .L553 1988
Interpretation Commentary - 1 Corinthians   BS 2675.3 .H38
Interpretation Commentary - 2 Corinthians   BS 2675.3 .B47 1987
Interpretation Commentary - Hebrews   BS 2775.3 .L66
Interpretation Commentary - 1 & 2 Peter, James, Jude   BS 2777 .P47
Interpretation Commentary - 1, 2, & 3 John   BS 2805.3 .S65
     
New Century Bible Commentary - Exodus   BS 1245.3 .H9 1971
New Century Bible Commentary - 1 & 2 Samuel   BS 1325.3 .M38 1971
New Century Bible Commentary - 1 & 2 Kings Vol. 1 & 2   BS 1335.3 .J66
New Century Bible Commentary - Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther   BS 1355.3 .C55
New Century Bible Commentary - Psalms Vol 1 & 2   BS 1430.3 .A63 1972      
New Century Bible Commentary - Proverbs   BS 1465.3 .W57 1994
New Century Bible Commentary - Ecclesiastes    BS 1475.3 .W45 1989
New Century Bible Commentary - Song of Songs   BS 1485.3 .S53 1993
New Century Bible Commentary - Isaiah 1-39   BS 1515.3 .C57 1980
New Century Bible Commentary - Isaiah 40-66   BS 1520 .W48
New Century Bible Commentary - Lamentations   BS 1535.3 .P76 1991  
New Century Bible Commentary - Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi   BS 1655.3 .R43 1995
New Century Bible Commentary - 1 & 2 Corinthians   BS 2675.3 .B78 1971
New Century Bible Commentary - Book of Revelation   BS 2825.3 .B24 1978
     
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Matthew   BS 2575.53 .N65 2005
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Mark   BS 2585.53 .F73 2002
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Luke   BS 2595.3 .M37 1978
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Romans   BS 2665.53 .L66 2015
New International Greek Testament Commentary - 1 Corinthians   BS 2675.53 .T45 2000
New International Greek Testament Commentary - 2 Corinthians   BS 2675.53 .H37 2005
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Galatians   BS 2685.3 .B75 1982
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Colossians, Philemon   BS 2715.3 .D86 1996
New International Greek Testament Commentary -  1 & 2 Thessalonians   BS 2725.3 .W35 1990
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Pastoral Epistles   BS 2735.3 .K55 1992
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Hebrews   BS 2775.3 .E455 1992
New International Greek Testament Commentary - James   BS 2785.3 .D38 1982
New International Greek Testament Commentary - Revelation   BS 2825.3 .B242
     
NIV Application Commentary - Daniel                 BS 1553.3 .L6 1999
NIV Application Commentary - Mark   BS 2585.3 .G37
NIV Application Commentary - Luke   BS 2595.3 .B57
NIV Application Commentary - Acts   BS 2625.3 .F47
NIV Application Commentary - 1 Corinthians   BS 2675.3 .B56
NIV Application Commentary - Galatians   BS 2685.3 .M34
NIV Application Commentary - Ephesians      BS 2695.3 .S66
NIV Application Commentary - Philippians   BS 2705.3 .T47
NIV Application Commentary - Colossians and Philemon   BS 2715.3 .G37
NIV Application Commentary - 1 & 2 Thessalonians   BS 2725.3 .H64
NIV Application Commentary - 1 & 2 Timothy, Titus   BS 2735.3 .L54 1999
NIV Application Commentary - Hebrews   BS 2775.3 .G865
NIV Application Commentary - James   BS 2785.3 .N97
NIV Application Commentary - 2 Peter, Jude   BS 2795.3 .M66
NIV Application Commentary - The Letters of John   BS 2805.3 .B884 1996