Skip to Main Content

Theology & Religion

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources in Theology

Welcome!

Library Guide for Theology & Religion

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

Students and faculty online and at regional centers may request books by mail through CU Library Exchange.

Selected E-Books

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Reference Works & Recent Titles in Print

Find these books and many others in the Reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library: 

REFERENCE                            
REF BR 95 .O8 2022 Vol 1-2   The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
REF BS 895 .A48 2019 Vol 1-3   The Hebrew Bible: A Translation with Commentary
REF BS 2387 .D53 2023   Dictionary of the New Testament Use of the Old Testament 
REF BS 1171.3 .S36 2021   Old Testament Use of Old Testament
REF BX 6211 .B73 2021   Historical Dictionary of the Baptists
REF PA 258 .E45 2019   The Cambridge Grammar of Classical Greek
REF PA 445 .E5 C36 2021 Vol 1-2   The Cambridge Greek Lexicon
REF PA 817 .H6413 2019   Ancient Greek Grammar for the Study of the New Testament  
       
PHILOSOPHY    
B 105 .T54 B48 2022     Thought under Threat: On Superstition, Spite, and Stupidity
B 765 .T54 J474 2018   Sin: A Thomistic Psychology
B 802 .J33 2019   The Secular Enlightenment
BD 553 .I53 2022   Mechanisms in Science: Method or Metaphysics?
     
ETHICS     
BJ 1012 .R5525 2021     Moral Acrobatics: How We Avoid Ethical Ambiguity by Thinking in Black and White
BJ 1031 .F88 2021     Future Morality
BJ 1251 .H337 2022   Pastoral Ethics
BJ 1401 .E974 2019   Explaining Evil
HF 5387 .B86765 2021   Business Ethics and Catholic Social Thought
HM 1111 .B76 2020   The Second Mountain: The Quest for a Moral Life
P 302.77 .H44 2020   All Bullshit and Lies? Insincerity, Irresponsibility, and the Judgment of Untruthfulness
     
RELIGION    
BL 42.5 .U5 S36 2018   The Resilience of Religion in American Higher Education
BL 51 .M6788 2020   Reinventing Religion: Beyond Belief and Scepticism
BL 312 .B56 2019   The Bloomsbury Reader in the Study of Myth
BL 325.F4 M34 2022    The Goddess Myth in Contemporary Literature and Popular Culture
BL 783 .J64 2018   The Story of Myth
BL 803 .R84513 2018   Pantheon: A New History of Roman Religion
BL 2525 .D63 2018     A Documentary History of Religion in America
BL 2525 .M36 2018   Religion & American Culture: A Brief History
BX 8762 .A43 A438 2022   Cree and Christian: Encounters and Transformations
F 1465.3 .R4 R45 2021   Religious Transformation in Maya Guatemala
     
JUDAISM    
BM 538 .H84 J8813 2021   The Jewish Body: A History
BM 723 .S93 2020   Jewish Mysticism: From Ancient Times through Today
KBM 524 .L5313 2019   An Introduction to Jewish Law
     
ISLAM    
BP 63 .A1 F67 2020   Islam and Asia
BP 172 .A273 2019   Sacred Misinterpretation: Reaching across the Christian-Muslim Divide
BP 194.16 .L6813 2020   Sunnis and Shi'a: A Political History of Discord
DS 56 .O924 2020   The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Archaeology
     
BUDDHISM    
BQ 9265.4 .V36 2018   The Spirit of Zen
     
CHRISTIANITY    
BR 115 .A8 A7755 2019   The Arts as Witness in Multifaith Contexts
BR 115 .A8 T395 2019   Glimpses of the New Creation: Worship and the Formative Power of the Arts
BR 115 .P7 A94 2019   The Spirit and the Common Good: Shared Flourishing in the Image of God
BR 127 .B534 2018   When One Religion Isn't Enough: The Lives of Spiritually Fluid People
BR 160 .E5 E5 2019   The History of the Church: Eusebius of Caesarea
BR 165 .S235 2024   The First Christian Communities, 32--380 CE: Quiet Christians, Visible Martyrs, and Compelling Texts
BR 195 .M65 S93 2022   The Forgotten Desert Mothers: Sayings, Lives, and Stories of Early Christian Women
BR 515 .H57 2019   A History of Christianity in the United States and Canada
BR 516 .L469 2019   God Land: A Story of Faith, Loss, and Renewal in Middle America
BR 516 .P7 2020   Preaching in /and the Borderlands
BR 517 .W58 2019   Religion and Resistance in Appalachia: Faith and the Fight Against Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining
BR 563 .N4 G295 2021   The Black Church: This is Our Story, This is Our Song
BR 1369 .W44 2018   Being Christians in Vandal Africa: The Politics of Orthodoxy in Post-Imperial West
BR 1640 .N645 2019   Evangelicals: Who They Have Been, Are Now, and Could Be
     
THE BIBLE    
BS 445 .S29613 2021   The Making of the Bible
BS 511.3 .B93 2019   Surprised by Jesus Again: Reading the Bible in Communion with the Saints
BS 621 .D485 2020   Has Archaeology Buried the Bible?
BS 680 .P45 L668 2020   The Bible and the Ballot: Using Scripture in Political Decisions
BS 680 .S53 G46 2019    Still Side by Side: A Concise Explanation of Biblical Gender Equality
BS 1135 .B43 1985   The Old Testament Canon of the New Testament Church and its Background in Early Judaism
BS 1199 .A25 B457 2023     Loving Our Own Bones: Disability Wisdom and the Spiritual Subversiveness of Knowing Ourselves Whole
BS 1225.6 .M44 C44 2019   The Messianic Vision of the Pentateuch 
BS 1235.52 .R59 2024   Reading Genesis
BS 1130 .W75 2023     Why the Bible Began: An Alternative History of Scripture and its Origins
BS 2361.3 .S73 2019   The State of New Testament Studies: A Survey of Recent Research
BS 2387 .B33 2010   Two Testaments, One Bible
BS 2393 .N48 2018    New Testament Philology
BS 2545 .I33 T7 2020   T&T Clark Social Identity Commentary on the New Testament 
BS 2545 .T45 R44 2019    The Temple in Early Christianity
BS 2575.52 .K367 2019   Matthew within Sectarian Judaism
BS 2650.52 .L348 2022   The Pauline Corpus in Early Christianity: Its Formation, Publication, and Circulation
BS 2651 .C284 2020   Pauline Dogmatics: The Triumph of God's Love
BS 2655 .J4 P58 2019   Paul A New Covenant Jew: Rethinking Pauline Theology 
BS 2655 .L3 V36 2018     Pauline Language and the Pastoral Epistles: A Study of Linguistic Variation in the Corpus Paulinum
BS 2675.53 .E45 2022    1 Corinthians: A Commentary
BS 2695.53 .C343 2023   The Letter to the Ephesians - The Pillar New Testament Commentary
BS 2725.53 .K54 2023   1 & 2 Thessalonians: Word Biblical Commentary
BS 2735.53 .P67 2023     The Pastoral Epistles: A Commentary on the Greek Text
BS 2825.2 .H86 1993   Anti-language in the Apocalypse of John
     
DOCTRINAL THEOLOGY    
BT 103 .D79 2019   God in Himself: Scripture, Metaphysics, and the Task of Christian Theology
BT 135 .B373 G63 2020   The God Who Acts in History: The Significance of Sinai
BT 180 .C67 S73 2022   God: An Anatomy
BT 303.2 .E465 2020   Can We Trust the Bible on the Historical Jesus?
BT 704 .E25 2022   Because of Eve: Historical and Theological Survey of the Subjugation of Women in the Christian Tradition
BT 704 .E925 2012 
 		   A Year of Biblical Womanhood: How a Liberated Woman Found Herself Sitting on her Roof, Covering her Head, and Calling her Husband "Master"
BT 712 .B75 2020   Reformed Theology & Evolutionary Theory
BT 848 .B64 2018   Seeing God: The Beatific Vision in Christian Tradition
BT 1095 .I5 2013    In Defense of the Bible
     
PRACTICAL THEOLOGY    
BV 8 .R88 2021   A History of Contemporary Praise & Worship
BV 639 .I4 H275 2021   Migration and the Making of Global Christianity
BV 639 .P6 C67 2012     When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty Without Hurting the Poor ... and Yourself
BV 639 .W7 B46 2013   Jesus Feminist: An Invitation to Revisit the Bible's View of Women
BV 873 .L6 V36 2019   We Will Feast: Rethinking Dinner, Worship, and the Community of God
BV 4211.3 .H665 2019   Sunday Comes Every Week: Daily Habits for the Busy Preacher
BV 4235 .T65 M38 2021     When Sorrow Comes: The Power of Sermons from Pearl Harbor to Black Lives Matter
BV 4415 .H695 2022    Buried Talents: Overcoming Gendered Socialization to Answer God's Call
BV 4501.3 .W42294 2019   Walk Humbly
BV 4529.18 .G735 2023     She deserves better: Raising girls to resist toxic teachings on sex, self, and speaking up
BV 4597.53 .L43 S735 2021   Lead Like It Matters to GOD: Values-Driven Leadership in a Success-Driven World
BV 4832 .D83 2019   Spiritual Meditations for People Who Help Other People
     
CHRISTIAN DENOMINATIONS    
BX 4817 .R46 2020   Recapturing an Enchanted World: Ritual and Sacrament in the Free Church Tradition
BX 5145 .C86 2018   The Book of Common Prayer: A Very Short Introduction
BX 8611 .P33 2024     American Zion: A New History of Mormonism
     
HISTORY: MEDITERRANEAN WORLD    
DF 211 .E77 2022    The Essential Greek Historians
DG 82 .K66 2020    Crossing the Pomerium: The Boundaries of Political, Religious, and Military Institutions from Caesar to Constantine
DS 119.76 .T488 2023   A Day in the Life of Abed Salama (Pulitzer Prize Winner - General Nonfiction)
DS 122.3 .G64 2024   Herod the Great: Jewish King in a Roman World  
DS 146 .U6 F47 2023     We Need to Talk about Antisemitism
GN 780.25 .C55 2024     After 1177 B.C.: The Survival of Civilizations
     
HISTORY: AMERICA    
E 185.615 .T595 2019   The Color Compromise: the Truth About the American Church's Complicity in Racism
E 185.97 .K5 E44 2023   King: A Life (2024 Pulitzer Prize for Biography)
E 365 .B98 2021   A Holy Baptism of Fire and Blood: The Bible and the American Civil War
HB 501 .K56 2021   Better Capitalism: Jesus, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and the MLK Jr. on Moving from Plantation to Partnership
HV 5090 .S93 P39 2022    Gin, Jesus, and Jim Crow: Prohibition and the Transformation of Racial and Religious Politics in the South
     
LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE    
P 85 .C47 H34 2021   The Linguistics Wars : Chomsky, Lakoff, and the Battle Over Deep Structure
PA 258 .M89 2001   Oxford Grammar of Classical Greek
PA 3860 .A172 P53 2023   Aetius [Loeb Classical Library - Greek/English Parallel Text]
PA 4244 .M27 2023 V. 1     Maximus of Tyre: Philosophical Orations I [Loeb Classical Library - Greek/English Parallel Text]
PA 4244 .M27 2023 V. 2   Maximus of Tyre: Philosophical Orations II [Loeb Classical Library - Greek/English Parallel Text]
PJ 4581 .F87 2020   Basics of Hebrew Accents
PN 56 .H585 P67 2022     Hope: A Literary History
PN 6712 .K65 2020   Drawing on Religion: Reading and the Moral Imagination in Comics and Graphic Novels
PR 255 .W38 2022   Balaam's Ass: Vernacular Theology Before the English Reformation
PR 408 .B53 F85 2021   The Book of Books: Biblical Interpretation, Literary Culture, and the Political Imagination from Erasmus to Milton
ML 421 .U2 E97 2012   Exploring U2: Is This Rock 'n' Roll? - Essays on the Music, Work, and Influence of U2

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

Library of Congress Classification Guide to Resources in Philosophy and Religion: 

      B                Philosophy            
  BC Logic
  BD Speculative Philosophy
  BH Aesthetics
  BJ Ethics
  BL Religions
  BM Judaism
  BP Islam
  BQ Buddhism
  BR Christianity
  BS The Bible
  BT Christianity: Doctrinal Theology
  BV Christianity: Practical Theology
  BX Christian Denominations