Skip to Main Content

Education

Montgomery Library's Guide to Resources in Education

Welcome!

Using this Guide:

  • Select the type of resource you need on the left navigation bar.
  • Scroll down on the current page for recommended books and tools for finding other books and e-books.

New to the Shelf!

Find these books and many more on the shelves in the reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library:

HISTORY    
D 16.3 .F47 2020   Transforming History: A Guide to Effective, Inclusive, and Evidence-Based Teaching
     
SOCIAL SCIENCES    
H 62.5 U5 N586 2022   Teaching Social Studies to Multilingual Learners in High School
     
THE FAMILY    
HQ 789 .W66 2020   The Ecology of Childhood: How Our Changing World Threatens Children's Rights
     
DISABILITIES    
KF 4210 .D54 2020   Disability Rights and Religious Liberty in Education: The Story Behind Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills School District
     
THEORY AND PRACTICE OF EDUCATION    
LB 1025.3 .K57 2021   The Thoughtful Teacher: Making Connections with a Diverse Student Population
LB 1025.3 .R87 2013   The Artisan Teacher: A Field Guide to Skillful Teaching
LB 1027 .F53 2020   All the Classroom's a Stage: Applying Theater Principles to Teaching Techniques
LB 1027.223 .S38 2022    Servant Teaching: Practices for Renewing Christian Higher Education
LB 1028.43 .R337 2020   Digital Divisions: How Schools Create Inequality in the Tech Era
LB 1044.9 .C59 L47 2019   Lessons Drawn: Essays on the Pedagogy of Comics and Graphic Novels
LB 1060.2 .H36 2019   Handbook of Behavioral Interventions in Schools
LB 1072 .R87 2020     Steps to Schoolwide Success: Systemic Practices for Connecting Social-Emotional and Academic Learning
LB 1139.5 .L58 C65 2020   Books As Partner: Diverse Literature in the Early Childhood Classroom
LB 1585 .P48 2020   Reading Actively in Middle Grade Science: Teachers and Students in Action
LB 1715 .D344 2019   Preparing Teachers for Deeper Learning
LB 1731 .T474 2020   Learning to Connect: Relationships, Race, and Teacher Education
LB 1732 .T73 2020   Hearing Their Voices: Teaching History to Students of Color
LB 1775.2 .W64 2018    The First Days of School: How to be an Effective Teacher
LB 2324 .E845 2021     Ethics in Higher Education: Promoting Equity and Inclusion through Case-based Inquiry
LB 2342 .K37 2021     Educating the Top 100 Percent: Policy Pathways for Public Higher Education
LB 2345.3 .R37 C65 2020   Collaborating for Change: Transforming Cultures to End Gender-Based Violence in Higher Education
LB 2353.62 .F55 2019   Learning in the Fast Lane: The Past, Present, and Future of Advanced Placement
LB 2367.75 .P73 2019   Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Secrets Study Guide, Your Key to Exam Success
LB 2395.7 .L47 2021   Lessons from the Pandemic: Trauma-Informed Approaches to College, Crisis, Change
     
SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION & ORGANIZATION    
LB 2805 .S524 1992   Moral Leadership: Getting to the Heart of School Improvement
LB 2805 .M74 2018   Transforming School Culture: How to Overcome Staff Division
LB 2822.82 .G569 2020   The Essential Renewal of America's Schools: A Leadership Guide for Democratizing Schools from the Inside Out
LB 2822.82 .O3255 2019   Opportunity for All: A Framework for Quality and Equality in Education
LB 2822.83 .K4 S36 2021   School Improvement: Let the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders Work for You
LB 2832.2 .J64 2019   Where Teachers Thrive: Organizing Schools for Success
LB 2838 .M3769 2013   Teacher Evaluation that Makes a Difference: A New Model for Teacher Growth and Student Achievement
LB 2866 .K86 2016   The Real School Safety Problem: The Long-Term Consequences of Harsh School Punishment
LB 3013.32 .O94 2019   The Alliance Way: The Making of a Bully-Free School
LB 3430 .S87 2020   Supporting and Educating Traumatized Students: A Guide for School-Based Professionals
     
SPECIAL ASPECTS OF EDUCATION    
LC 34.4 .B35 2019   Reclaiming Community: Race and the Uncertain Future of Youth Work
LC 152 .S6 S34 2019   A Literate South: Reading Before Emancipation
LC 191 .M526 2019   International Aid to Education: Power Dynamics in an Era of Partnership
LC 212 .S65 2020   Racial Microaggressions: Using Critical Race Theory to Respond to Everyday Racism
LC 212.2 .F38 2019   The Stories We Tell: Math, Race, Bias, and Opportunity
LC 213.2 M445 2020   From equity talk to equity walk : expanding practitioner knowledge for racial justice in higher education 
LC 215 .W46 2019   Broader, Bolder, Better: How Schools and Communities Help Students Overcome the Disadvantages of Poverty
LC 1011 .A319 2020   The Battle of the Classics: How a Nineteenth-Century Debate Can Save the Humanities Today
LC 1011 .P32 2022    What We Value: Public Health, Social Justice, and Educating for Democracy
LC 1099 .B665 2019   Letting Go of Literary Whiteness: Antiracist Literature Instruction for White Students
LC 1099.3 .K36 2019   Race Dialogues: A Facilitator's Guide to Tackling the Elephant in the Classroom
LC 1200 .H55 2019   High Leverage Practices for Inclusive Classrooms
LC 2083 .N5 V55 2021   Am I My Brother's Keeper? Educational Opportunities and Outcomes for Black and Brown Boys
LC 2670.2 .C76 2020   The Starting Line: Latina/o Children, Texas Schools, and National Debates on Early Education
LC 2683.6 .C65 2020   The Chicana/o/x Dream: Hope, Resistance, and Educational Success
LC 2802 .S9 F46 2022     Jim Crow's Pink Slip: The Untold Story of Black Principal and Teacher Leadership
LC 3715 .A73 2020   School Leadership for Refugee's Education: Social Justice Leadership for Immigrant, Migrants, and Refugees
LC 3969 .L33 2020   Moral Issues in Special Education: An Inquiry into the Basic Rights, Responsibilities, and Ideals
LC 4091 .R4174 2021   The Economic and Opportunity Gap: How Poverty Impacts the Lives of Students
LC 4165 .W35 2020   Trauma Informed Teaching Through Play Art Narrative (PAN)
LC 4601 .V457 2021   Equity-Centered Trauma-Informed Education
LC 4704 .L386 2019   Learning Disabilities: From Identification to Intervention
LC 5147 .A67 N44 2020   Literacy in the Mountains: Community, Newspapers, and Writing in Appalachia
LD 3231 .M6954 H73 2019   The Empowered University: Shared Leadership, Culture Change, and Academic Success
     
ART EDUCATION    
N 350 .M263 2021   Teaching Contemporary Art with Young People: Themes in Art for K-12 Classrooms
NX 280 .D66 2020   Teacher as Curator: Formative Assessment and Arts-Based Strategies
     
ENGLISH LANGUAGE    
PE 1404 .C468 2019   A Good Fit for All Kids: Collaborating to Teach Writing in Diverse, Inclusive Settings
     
LITERATURE (GENERAL)    
PN 1009 .A1 M285 2019   The ABC of It: Why Children's Books Matter
PN 1128 .A2 A5325 2019   Amplifying the Curriculum: Designing Quality Learning Opportunities for English Learners
PE 1405 .U6 M38 2019   The Two Cultures of English: Literature, Composition, and the Moment of Rhetoric
PR 990 .J65 2019   Literature's Children: the Critical Child and the Art of Idealization
     
PSYCHOLOGY & MEDICINE    
REF BF 432 .C48 S28 2018    Assessment of Children: Cognitive Foundations and Applications
REF BF 432 .C48    Resource Guide to Assessment of Children: Cognitive Foundations and Applications
RA 563 .M56 M28 2022   Just Health: Treating Structural Racism to Heal America
RC 394 .C7 S73 2021   The Brain on Youth Sports: The Science, the Myths, and the Future
REF RC 455.2 .C4 A48 2022    Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TR
     
SCIENCE    
Q 175 .A485 2022   The Joy of Science
Q 175.32.K45 M328 2022   Understanding How Science Explains the World
     
MATHEMATICS    
QA 10.5 .K37 2020   Open Middle Math: Problems that Unlock Student Thinking, Grades 6-12
QA 11.2 .B26525 2021    Figuring out Fluency in Mathematics: Teaching and Learning (Grades K-8)
QA135.6 .B384 2022   Figuring out Fluency - Addition & Subtraction with Fractions and Decimals: A Classroom Companion (Grades 4-8)
QA135.6 .B385 2022   Figuring out Fluency - Multiplication & Division with Fractions and Decimals: A Classroom Companion (Grades 4-8)
QA135.6 .B386 2023   Figuring out Fluency - Operations with Rational Numbers and Algebraic Equations: A Classroom Companion (Grades 5-9)
QA 135.6 .B39425 2019   Math Fact Fluency: 60+ Games and Assessment Tools to Support Learning and Retention
QA 135.6 .L55 2021   Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics: 14 Teaching Practices for Enhancing Learning (Grades K-12)
QA135.6 .S2577 2022   Figuring out Fluency - Addition & Subtraction with Whole Numbers: A Classroom Companion
QA135.6 .S2578 2022   Figuring out Fluency - Multiplication and Division with Whole Numbers: A Classroom Companion (Grades K-8)
QA .S65 2023    11 Effective Strategies for Teaching Math to Students Who Have Given Up on Learning
     
LIBRARY SCIENCE    
Z 711.25 .C65 B83 2021   The One-Shot Library Instruction Survival Guide
Z 695.95 .F53 2020   A Place for Everything: The Curious History of Alphabetical Order

Selected E-Books

CU Search

  • CU Search provides a quick, powerful search of most of Montgomery Library's online and physical resources.
  • After you click search, always click Sign in at the top right before you try to access online search results.
  • Click the tabs below to search for only one kind of source at a time (articles, e-books, print books, or DVDs).
  • To search an individual database, find a complete list of databases here: Databases A-Z

eBook Collection by EBSCOhost

Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's ebook collection, which contains over 180,000 books.

Interlibrary Loan
CU Search includes an Interlibrary Loan tool for finding books and articles at other libraries that are not available at the Montgomery Library. Through Interlibrary Loan, these items may be obtained free of charge unless a fee is required by the lending library. Allow at least two weeks for delivery of materials. Learn how to request Interlibrary loan items using the link below:

Browse the Collection

Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.

Library of Congress Classification Guide for Education Resources:

                          L             General
  LA History of Education
  LB Theory and Practice of Education
  LC Special Aspects of Education
  LD Individual Institutions - U.S.
  LE    Individual Institutions - Other Americas         
  LF Individual Institutions - Europe
  LG Individual Institutions - Asia/Africa/Oceania
  LH College Publications
  LJ Student Fraternities and Sororities
  LT Textbooks
  PZ Children's Literature