Magic Words, Magic Worlds: Form and style in Epic Fantasy by 
Heroic Awe: The sublime and the Remaking of Renaissance Epic by 
Supportive Conversations on Facebook Timelines: Discourse Topic Management by 
Dickens and Democracy in the Age of Paper: Representing the People by 
Narrating Trauma: Victorian Novels and Modern Stress Disorders by 
Commemorative Modernisms: Women Writers, Death and the First World War by 
The Gift of Narrative in Medieval England by 
Depictions of Home in African American Literature by 
Talking in Clichés: The Use of Stock Phrases in Discourse and Communication by 
A New Handbook of Rhetoric: Inverting the Classical Vocabulary by 
Shakespeare and the Elizabethan Reformation: Literary Negotiation of Religious Difference by 
The Secret Life of Literature by 
The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts by Stay up-to-date with the Montgomery Library on social media!
Using this Guide:
New to the Shelf!
Find these books and many others in the reference and circulating collections of Montgomery Library:
| REFERENCE | |||
| REF LB 2369 .M52 2021 | MLA Handbook (9th ed.) | ||
| REF PS 537 .W75 2020 | Writing Appalachia: An Anthology | ||
| COMPARATIVE MYTHOLOGY | |||
| BL 325.F4 M34 2022 | The Goddess Myth in Contemporary Literature and Popular Culture | ||
| HISTORY AND SOCIAL SCIENCE | |||
| BF 175.5 .F45 C74 2021 | The Future is Feminine: Capitalism and the Masculine Disorder | ||
| E 184 .S75 G73 2022 | Conjured Bodies: Queer Racialization in Contemporary Latinidad | ||
| HM 646.2 .P86 P86 2021 | Punk Identities, Punk Utopias: Global Punk and Media | ||
| HV 6516 .G47 2022 | Holding a Mirror up to Nature: Shame, Guilt, and Violence in Shakespeare | ||
| LINGUISTICS | |||
| P 40 .M425 2020 | Words Matter: Meaning and Power | ||
| P 96 .F46 R486 2022 | Re-Understanding Media: Feminist Extensions of Marshall McLuhan | ||
| P 96 .F315 R46 2020 | Re-Orientating the Fairy Tale: Contemporary Adaptations Across Cultures | ||
| P 96 .L5 C43 2020 | Poetry Unbound: Poems and New Media From the Magic Lantern to Instagram | ||
| P 116 .P53 2021 | From Signal to Symbol: The Evolution of Language | ||
| P 301 .N49 2021 | A New Handbook of Rhetoric: Inverting the Classical Vocabulary | ||
| P 301.5 .C45 B85 2023 | Talking in Clichés: The Use of Stock Phrases in Discourse and Communication | ||
| P 301.5 .I73 K74 2020 | Irony and Sarcasm | ||
| P 301.5 .M48 C87 2019 | Current Approaches to Metaphor Analysis in Discourse | ||
| P 301.5 .P47 B76 2019 | How Words Make Things Happen | ||
| P 302.7 .A735 2021 | Not a Big Deal: Narrating to Unsettle | ||
| P 308 .U53 2022 | Using Technologies for Creative-Text Translation | ||
| P 410 .I58 S88 2020 | On the Offensive: Prejudice in Language Past and Present | ||
| P 3027.77 .H44 2020 | All Bullshit and Lies? Insincerity, Irresponsibility and the Judgment of Untruthfulness | ||
| PE 1390 .N38 2019 | Natural Word Order in English | ||
| PE 1404 .C468 2019 | A Good Fit for All Kids: Collaborating to Teach Writing in Diverse, Inclusive Settings | ||
| PE 1582 .F8 S36 2020 | Emigres: French Words That Turned English | ||
| PE 1611 .M295 2019 | The Dictionary Wars: The American Fight over the English Language | ||
| PJ 4581 .F87 2020 | Basics of Hebrew Accents | ||
| ASIAN LITERATURE | |||
| PL 721 .S65 I58 2022 | Into the Fantastical Spaces of Contemporary Japanese Literature | ||
| LITERATURE (GENERAL) | |||
| PN 56 .A43 A34 2020 | Affect and Literature | ||
| PN 56 .M54 W66 2020 | Women Making Modernism | ||
| PN 56 .M87 R443 2021 | Soundworks: Race, Sound and Poetry in Production | ||
| PN 56 .P93 Z86 2022 | The Secret Life of Literature | ||
| PN 56 .S538 M58 2020 | Writing Shame: Contemporary Literature, Gender and Negative Affect | ||
| PN 56 .T7 C365 2019 | The Cambridge History of Travel Writing | ||
| PN 81 .B62 2021 | Love's Shadow | ||
| PN 98 .C6 F55 2019 | Marxist Literary Criticism Today | ||
| PN 98.(67 R44 2021 | The Bloomsbury Introduction to Postmodern Realist Fiction: Resisting Master Narratives | ||
| PN 471 .M378 2022 | As Told by Herself: Women's Childhood Autobiography, 1845-1969 | ||
| PN 491.2 .C66 2020 | Contemporary Feminist Life-Writing: The New Audacity | ||
| PN 671 .P47 2023 | The Gift of Narrative in Medieval England | ||
| PN 771 .C46 2021 | Modernism, Empire, and World Literature | ||
| PN 849 .C3 D44 2019 | Allegories of the Anthropocene | ||
| PN 1009.5 .F37 C43 2019 | Re-Enchanted: The Rise of Children's Fantasy Literature in the Twentieth Century | ||
| PN 1059 .P76 H48 2020 | Prose Poetry: An Introduction | ||
| PN 1271 .R36 2021 | Poetry in a Global Age | ||
| PN 1661 .C38 2021 | The Art of Dramaturgy | ||
| PN 1892 .W29 2020 | Tragedy Since 9/11: Reading a World Out of Join | ||
| PN 1996 .P467 2022 | Scene Writing: The Missing Manual for Screenwriters | ||
| PN 2045 .N49 2019 | A New Companion to Malory | ||
| PN 3427 .W55 2022 | Genre Worlds: Popular Fiction and Twenty-First-Century Book Culture | ||
| PN 3435 .O426 2022 | Magic Words, Magic Worlds: Form and Style in Epic Fantasy | ||
| PN 3365 .W37 2021 | Writing the Novella | ||
| PN 3448 .G68 S47 2021 | Gothic Imagination in Latin America Fiction and Film | ||
| PN 6714 .S26 2019 | Graphic Memories of the Civil Rights Movement: Reframing History in Comics | ||
| PN 6714 .U63 2019 | Uncanny Bodies: Superhero Comics and Disability | ||
| ENGLISH LITERATURE | |||
| PQ 4335 .T66 2020 | Dante | ||
| PQ 4447 .C58 2020 | Dante's Christian Ethics: Purgatory and Its Moral Consequences | ||
| PR 116 .K45 2022 | Commemorative Modernisms: Women Writers, Death and the First World War | ||
| PR 255 .W48 2019 | Black Metaphors: How Modern Racism Emerged from Medieval Race-Thinking | ||
| PR 408 .B53 F85 2021 | The Book of Books: Biblical Interpretation, Literary Culture, and the Political Imagination from Erasmus to Milton | ||
| PR 408 .S845 D36 2022 | Joy of the Worm: Suicide and Pleasure in Early Modern English Literature | ||
| PR 447 .F39 2021 | Romantic Egypt: Abyssal Ground of British Romanticism | ||
| PR 461 .D46 2019 | The Victorian World | ||
| PR 468 .P57 B47 2022 | Dickens and Democracy in the Age of Paper: Representing the People | ||
| PR 471 .D68 2019 | Travel and Home in Homer's Odyssey and Contemporary Literature: Critical Encounters and Nostalgic Returns | ||
| PR 878 .E67 S34 2021 | Communities of Care: The Social Ethics of Victorian Fiction | ||
| PR 878 .P737 B73 2022 | Narrating Trauma: Victorian Novels and Modern Stress Disorders | ||
| PR 921 .O54 2021 | On Essays: Montaigne to the Present | ||
| PR 1905 .G464 2019 | Geoffrey Chaucer in Context | ||
| PR 1906.5 .T87 2019 | Chaucer | ||
| PR 1914 .W37 2019 | Chaucer and Religious Controversies in the Medieval and Early Modern Eras | ||
| PR 1924 .C594 2019 | The Poet and the Antiquaries | ||
| PR 3011 .T39 2022 | Shakespeare and the Elizabethan Reformation: Literary Negotiation of Religious Difference | ||
| PR 3581 .M33 2020 | Poet of Revolution: The Making of John Milton | ||
| PR 4037 .B35 2019 | The Lost Books of Jane Austen | ||
| PR 4038 .S8 T66 2021 | Jane Austen's Style: Narrative Economy and the Novel's Growth | ||
| PR 4388 .B97 2021 | Byron in Context | ||
| PR 4837 .N37 2021 | Keat's Odes: A Lover's Discord | ||
| PR 5881 .G55 2020 | William Wordsworth: A Life (2nd Edition) | ||
| PR 6039 .O32 Z6474 2020 | The Worlds of J.R.R. Tolkien: The Places That Inspire Middle-Earth | ||
| PR 6053 .A73 Z524 2022 | Angela Carter's Pyrotechnics: A Union of Contraries | ||
| PR 6055 .V25 G57 2019 | Girl, Woman, Other 2019 Booker Prize | ||
| PR 6069 .T6 Z93 2021 | Tom Stoppard in Context | ||
| PR 9199.3 .A8 T47 2019 | The Testaments 2019 Booker Prize | ||
| IRISH LITERATURE | |||
| PR 6058 .E2 Z6597 2020 | On Seamus Heaney | ||
| PR 6112 .Y534 P76 2023 | Prophet Song 2023 Booker Prize | ||
| AMERICAN LITERATURE | |||
| ML 82 .B5 2021 | Fempoetiks of American Poetry and Americana Music | ||
| PS 147 .S66 2020 | In Plain Sight: Nineteenth-Century American Women's Poetry and the Problem of Literary History | ||
| PS 153.B53 E97 2022 | Expanding the Foundation: African American Authors of Young Adult Literature, 1980-2000 | ||
| PS 153.B53 H37 2021 | Depictions of Home in African American Literature | ||
| PS 153 .N5 L385 2019 | Black and More Than Black: African American Fiction in the Post Era | ||
| PS 153 .N5 L476 2020 | Literary Afrofuturism in the Twenty-First Century | ||
| PS 153 .N5 M575 2020 | From Slave Cabins to the White House: Homemade Citizenship in African American Culture | ||
| PS 217 .C58 M35 2020 | Not Even Past: The Stories We Keep Telling About the Civil War | ||
| PS 217 .I47 W38 2020 | Colonizing the Past: Mythmaking and Pre-Columbian Whites in Nineteenth-Century American Writing | ||
| PS 217 .W66 C66 2020 | Clothed in Meaning: Literature, Labor, & Cotton in Nineteenth -Century America | ||
| PS 228 .W37 R46 2020 | American Writers and World War I | ||
| PS 310 .M57 G57 2020 | Modernism's Metronome: Meter and Twentieth-Century Poetics | ||
| PS 492 .A23 2020 | No Kids Allowed: Children's Literature for Adults | ||
| PS 374 .F27 P35 2021 | The Shape of Fantasy: Investigating the Structure of American Heroic Epic Fantasy | ||
| PS 374 .F27 T485 2019 | The Dark Fantastic: Race and Imagination from Harry Potter to the Hunger Games | ||
| PS 374 .N4 H34 2021 | Re-Membering and Surviving: African American Fiction of the Civil War | ||
| PS 374 .T434 N39 2021 | Flat-World Fiction: Digital Humanity in Early Twenty-First-Century America | ||
| PS 374 .Y57 H37 2019 | Posthumanist Readings in Dystopian Young Adult Fiction | ||
| PS 866 .W5 Z56 2019 | Phillis Wheatley Choose Freedom | ||
| PS 1016 .R67 2023 | A Strange Life: Selected Essays of Louisa May Alcott | ||
| PS 1018 .L58 2022 | Little Women at 150 | ||
| PS 2382 .P37 2019 | Melville: Complete Poems | ||
| PS 2971 .M35 2019 | Tarkington: Novels and Stories | ||
| PS 3231 .T68 2019 | Walt Whitman Speaks | ||
| PS 3505 .A87 Z667 2021 | The Only Wonderful Things: The Creative Partnership of Willa Cather and Edith Lewis | ||
| PS 3515 .U789 Y68 2023 | You Don't Know Us Negroes and Other Essays | ||
| PS 3531 .E933 A5 2019 | Ann Petry: The Street, The Narrows | ||
| PS 3552 .E75 Z595 2019 | Virtues of Renewal: Wendell Berry's Sustainable Forms | ||
| PS 3553 .H584 T78 2019 | Trust Exercise: A Novel 2019 National Book Award for Fiction | ||
| PS 3553 .S53 F58 2021 | Floaters: Poems 2018 Ruth Lilly Prize for Poetry | ||
| PS 3555 .R42 N54 2020 | The Night Watchman 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction | ||
| PS 3557 .R489982 Z46 2019 | Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir | ||
| PS 3558 .A62423 Z46 2021 | Poet Warrior: A Memoir | ||
| PS 3558 .A6243 A64 2019 | An American Sunrise 2017 Ruth Lilly Prize for Poetry | ||
| PS 3558 .O8659 L37 2022 | Lark Ascending: A Novel | ||
| PS 3561 .I496 D46 2022 | David Copperhead | ||
| PS 3562 .E42 A79 2019 | Ursula K. Le Guin: Always Coming Home | ||
| PS 3563 .C337 P37 2022 | The Passenger | ||
| PS 3569 .E316 Z943 2019 | Reading Sedgwick | ||
| PS 3602 .E449 M87 2020 | The Murder of Marion Miley | ||
| PS 3602 .E66444 V36 2020 | The Vanishing Half | ||
| PS 3602 .R6458 Y45 2019 | The Yellow House: A Memoir 2019 National Book Award for Nonfiction | ||
| PS 3603 .H65 A6 2020 | DMZ Colony 2020 National Book Award Winner for Poetry | ||
| PS 3603 .R68 R43 2019 | Recursion | ||
| PS 3604 .I186 A6 2020 | Postcolonial Love Poem 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry | ||
| PS 3613 .O8444 H45 2021 | Hell of a Book or the Altogether Factual Bona Fide Story of a Big Dreams, Hard Luck, American Made Kid 2021 National Book Award for Fiction | ||
| MANUSCRIPTS & PALEOGRAPHY | |||
| Z 106.5 .E85 D43 2023 | The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts |
CU Search
eBook Collection by EBSCOhost
Additional e-books not available through CU Search can be found at EBSCOhost's e-book collection, which contains over 180,000 books.
Browse the Collection
Use these call numbers to browse the reference and circulating collections on Montgomery Library's first floor.
Library of Congress Classification Guide to Resources for Language and Literature:
| P | Language and linguistics |
| PA | Classical languages & literature |
| PB-PH | Modern European languages & literature |
| PJ | Oriental languages & literature |
| PK | Indo-Iranian languages & literature |
| PL | Languages & literature of Eastern Asia, Oceania, Africa |
| PM | American Indian languages |
| PN | Literary history and collections |
| PQ | French, Italian, Spanish & Portuguese literature |
| PR | English literature |
| PS | American literature |
| PT | Germanic literature |
| PZ | Fiction and children's literature |
For a more detailed breakdown of Library of Congress Classification, use this link: