Stay up-to-date with the Montgomery Library on social media!
Montgomery Library Newsletter Vol. 10, No. 1, Fall 2024
Catch up with us!
Expired Library Links · OER: Open Textbooks and More · Library Instruction & Appointments
AI Plagiarism: Video & Guide · New Library Guides, Books & E-Books · Books in the Mail & InterLibrary Loan
Expired Library Links - Creating New Library Links for Course Materials
Due to a recent library authentication upgrade, your saved library links and bookmarks may not work anymore, and we apologize for the inconvenience. If you include library links in Moodle or elsewhere, it is necessary to check for expired links and to insert new permalinks for any resources affected. Contact Kinzie Wells at mlwells@campbellsville.edu for help with any issues.
Expensive Textbooks vs. Open Educational Resources (OER)
Have you ever had students fail a course probably because they never bought the expensive assigned textbook? One remedy is to adopt more Open Educational Resources (OER), which are teaching, learning, and research materials that can be distributed legally for free. Open textbooks found online can supplement or even replace traditional textbooks, with evidence pointing to equivalent and sometimes better learning outcomes compared to traditional textbooks (Feldstein et al., 2012; Hilton, 2016; Tlili et al., 2023).
Jonathan Lehtonen, our Instruction & Reference Specialist who started last January, has been meeting with faculty interested in adopting high-quality open textbooks and other free resources. On our updated Open Educational Resources library guide, library staff have already located hundreds of open textbooks and library e-textbooks applicable to various CU courses, along with OER databases for finding additional books. Contact Jonathan Lehtonen at jlehtonen@campbellsville.edu or schedule an appointment here.
For Your Students: Library Instruction & Personal Research Appointments
In this current "Age of Disinformation," our students direly need to ramp up their critical research literacy skills for tracking down credible sources. To address this need, Jonathan Lehtonen offers in-person and online Library Instruction sessions tailored to your course assignments to help students find better quality sources. Using the Library Instruction form, faculty may request instruction on a variety of topics:
Another option is to encourage students to attend one of the upcoming Library Orientation Webinars on September 11 at 7 pm (ET) and October 30 at 7 pm (ET). Click here to find webinar registration information and last semester's recording.
In addition, both faculty and students can schedule Personal Research Appointments in person or on Microsoft Teams using this link, but students are more likely to request an appointment if they first participate in a Library Instruction session.
Jonathan also provides online course guides covering library and external resources. For an example, see the library course guide for BA 606: Team Management.
AI Plagiarism and Search Skills: New Videos and Guides by the Library
Have you noticed more students plagiarizing off of AI tools like Grammarly and ChatGPT? As you update your Moodle courses, please consider linking and sharing two new resources we have created:
Library Guide: AI, Plagiarism, and Writing with Integrity
Action-Packed Video: Plagiarism, AI, and Writing it Yourself: No Brain, No Gain!
These resources define seven types of plagiarism and pose multiple ethical and practical arguments to motivate students to do their own writing rather than plagiarize off of AI or another source.
At our Tutorials page, you will also notice multiple new tutorial videos going over basic search skills, Boolean operators, citation tools in databases, and other topics. These videos are highly recommended for students online and at regional centers.
New Library Guides, Books & E-Books
For Your Courses: New and Improved Subject Guides
Do you need a quick way to see newly acquired books and e-books in your field? We currently maintain 42 up-to-date subject guides for the different course areas at CU. A library subject guide is the online equivalent of a curated display of recently acquired books/e-books in your academic field, supplemented with our own instructional pages and videos for teaching research literacy skills to our students. We would like to request that all faculty link their respective subject guides in their Moodle courses.
Updated Topic Guides
Here are the library topic guides that have been extensively updated or added this past year:
Fact-checking and Fighting Misinformation - does this even need a justification?
Research Basics - All Subjects - perfect introduction or refresher for students writing research papers
Civil Discourse - find books, e-books, and external websites supporting our current Quality Enhancement Program
Community & Belonging - find new books and e-books for all ages celebrating diverse cultures and social identities
Copyright, Fair Use, and Creative Commons - tips on how to legally reuse, edit, and redistribute texts and other media
Open Educational Resources (OER) - new tips and materials added to reduce textbook costs for students
Check out Our Civil Discourse Library Display!
In line with our current QEP, we are displaying a selection of books about civil discourse and principles of democracy. Faculty are encouraged to create assignments that involve consulting these resources. As discussed above, additional books, e-books, and websites are featured on our new Civil Discourse library guide.
New to the Shelf at Montgomery Library!
As previously mentioned, you can find the newest books for your field in the regularly updated subject guide for your department or course area (see the list of guides A-Z).
Would you like to suggest a book or DVD for the Montgomery Library's collections? Use our online form to make a suggestion: Suggest an Item for the Collection
Below is just an armful of the latest additions to the Montgomery Library book collection. As a reminder, faculty and students nationwide may check out print books sent via the mail through CU Library Exchange.
Art
Business & Technology
Chiropractic
Education
Human Performance
Your Brain on Exercise, Gary Lee Wenk, Oxford University Press, 2021.
Humanities
Mass Communication
Music
Math
Natural Science
The Joy of Science, by Jim Al-Khalili, Princeton University Press, 2022
Nursing
Social Science
Social Work
TESOL/ESL
Theology
New E-Books
This is just a sampling of e-books now available through eBook Collection from EBSCOhost.
Simply click the links below and log in to read!
Art
Business & Technology
Chiropractic
Chiropractic Medicine: An Ethnographic Study, by Robert Hartmann McNamara, Lexington Books, 2019.
Education
Human Performance
High Ten : An Inspiring Story About Building Great Team Culture, Martin Rooney, Wiley, 2021.
Humanities
Mass Communication
Music
Math
Natural Science
Environmental Science of Heavy Metals, by Dorota Bartusik-Aebisher, Nova, 2020.
Nursing
Social Science
Social Work
Handbook for Social Work Writing, by Susan E. Mason; Wendy Zeitlin, Routledge, 2024.
TESOL/ESL
Theology
Other Library Services
CU Library Exchange: Books in the Mail
We want all students and faculty working online and at regional centers to know they can borrow books too. New video here, and the form is here.
Interlibrary Loan
Courtney Hardin will be filling InterLibrary Loan requests for you. Here is the link to the instructions for requesting interlibrary loan materials. We also have a video.
Work-Study Student Spotlight
Whitney Bowden has been a faithful student worker at the Montgomery Library for three years, where she has curated the children's section. Majoring in psychology and Spanish with a minor in dance, she will be graduating this December. She has enjoyed performing in dance recitals over the years, and she particularly likes reading contemporary and science fiction. Special thanks to Whitney, and we wish her the best this upcoming year!
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
The Monty is published fall and spring semesters by Montgomery Library at Campbellsville University, Campbellsville Kentucky.
Jonathan Lehtonen, Editor, Instruction & Reference Specialist jlehtonen@campbellsville.edu
Kay Alston, Director of Library Services klalston@campbellsville.edu
Kinzie Wells, Reference & Electronic Resource Librarian mlwells@campbellsville.edu
Kaitlyn Von Bergen, Circulation Associate krvonbergen@campbellsville.edu
Courtney Hardin, Reference & Digital Collections Associate crhardin@campbellsville.edu
Monty's rendering is courtesy of Kaitlyn Von Bergen.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________